TIME WARNER INC.

EDGAR

98 filing records in this dataset, filed from 2001-03-27 to 2018-04-27. Reported financial figures are available; chart coverage varies by period.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

8 billion USD

2018 Q1 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 7996000000 USD Source

Operating margin

22.65%

2018 Q1 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: 1811000000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 7996000000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

1.32 billion USD

2018 Q1 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 1316000000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
1.69 billion USD Source
Exact value

1691000000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
782 million shares Source
Exact value

782000000 shares

Reported share-count change

0.90% · 7 million shares

Year-over-year change in reported shares. Splits, issuance and buybacks can affect this figure; it does not isolate employee compensation or economic dilution.

Exact inputs and evidence
  • 775000000 shares · 2017-03-31· Source
  • 782000000 shares · 2018-03-31· Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2018-04-27.

Financial data available through: 2017-12-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2017-12-31
  • Operating income: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2017-12-31
  • Net income: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2017-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2017-12-31
  • capital expenditure: No compatible figures in this window
  • Total assets: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2017-12-31
  • Total liabilities: 1 of 11 periods available· newest 2017-12-31
  • Current assets: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2017-12-31
  • Current liabilities: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2017-12-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2017-12-31
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • Shares outstanding: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2017-12-31

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +6.7%

    Prior period

    USD 29.32 billion

    –

    Current period

    USD 31.27 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    31271000000 − 29318000000 = 1953000000 USD

    29318000000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    31271000000 USD · 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    +33.6%

    Prior period

    USD 3.93 billion

    –

    Current period

    USD 5.25 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    5247000000 − 3926000000 = 1321000000 USD

    3926000000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    5247000000 USD · 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    +8.9%

    Prior period

    USD 4.67 billion

    –

    Current period

    USD 5.08 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    5079000000 − 4666000000 = 413000000 USD

    4666000000 USD · 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    5079000000 USD · 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Comparable inputs unavailable for: Capital expenditure.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2017 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31

  • Revenue USD 31.27 billion 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived USD 23.35 billion 75% of revenue
  • Operating income USD 7.92 billion 25% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived USD 2.67 billion 8.5% of revenue
  • Net income USD 5.25 billion 17% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 5.08 billion 16% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Free cash flow Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 2008 Operating loss: operating costs were 112% of revenue.
  • 2009 9.8%82%
  • 2010 9.6%11%80%
  • 2011 10%10%80%
  • 2012 12%10%78%
  • 2013 14%9.7%76%
  • 2014 14%78%
  • 2015 14%11%76%
  • 2016 13%12%74%
  • 2017 17%75%
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
2008 2008-01-01 – 2008-12-3126434000000 29478000000 Derived -3044000000 10354000000 Derived -13398000000 Unavailable
Source
2009 2009-01-01 – 2009-12-3125388000000 20918000000 Derived 4470000000 1993000000 Derived 2477000000 Unavailable
Source
2010 2010-01-01 – 2010-12-3126888000000 21460000000 Derived 5428000000 2850000000 Derived 2578000000 Unavailable
Source
2011 2011-01-01 – 2011-12-3128974000000 23169000000 Derived 5805000000 2919000000 Derived 2886000000 Unavailable
Source
2012 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-3125325000000 19827000000 Derived 5498000000 2573000000 Derived 2925000000 Unavailable
Source
2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-3126461000000 20193000000 Derived 6268000000 2577000000 Derived 3691000000 Unavailable
Source
2014 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-3127359000000 21384000000 Derived 5975000000 2148000000 Derived 3827000000 Unavailable
Source
2015 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-3128118000000 21253000000 Derived 6865000000 3032000000 Derived 3833000000 Unavailable
Source
2016 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-3129318000000 21771000000 Derived 7547000000 3621000000 Derived 3926000000 Unavailable
Source
2017 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-3131271000000 23351000000 Derived 7920000000 2673000000 Derived 5247000000 Unavailable
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 31.3B 2017
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.33.8B25.3B16.9B8.4B0.0200820132017
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2008Revenue26434000000
2009Revenue25388000000
2010Revenue26888000000
2011Revenue28974000000
2012Revenue25325000000
2013Revenue26461000000
2014Revenue27359000000
2015Revenue28118000000
2016Revenue29318000000
2017Revenue31271000000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

6.7% 2017
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.9.4%3.5%-2.4%-8.3%-14.2%200820132017
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2008Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2009Year over year-4%
2010Year over year5.9%
2011Year over year7.8%
2012Year over year-12.6%
2013Year over year4.5%
2014Year over year3.4%
2015Year over year2.8%
2016Year over year4.3%
2017Year over year6.7%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 25.3% 2017
Net margin 16.8% 2017
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.32%10%-12%-35%-57%200820132017
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2008Operating margin-11.5%
2009Operating margin17.6%
2010Operating margin20.2%
2011Operating margin20%
2012Operating margin21.7%
2013Operating margin23.7%
2014Operating margin21.8%
2015Operating margin24.4%
2016Operating margin25.7%
2017Operating margin25.3%
2008Net margin-50.7%
2009Net margin9.8%
2010Net margin9.6%
2011Net margin10%
2012Net margin11.5%
2013Net margin13.9%
2014Net margin14%
2015Net margin13.6%
2016Net margin13.4%
2017Net margin16.8%
2008Free cash flow marginNot reported
2009Free cash flow marginNot reported
2010Free cash flow marginNot reported
2011Free cash flow marginNot reported
2012Free cash flow marginNot reported
2013Free cash flow marginNot reported
2014Free cash flow marginNot reported
2015Free cash flow marginNot reported
2016Free cash flow marginNot reported
2017Free cash flow marginNot reported

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 5.1B 2017
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.5.5B4.1B2.7B1.4B0.0200820132017
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2008Operating cash flow4292000000
2009Operating cash flow3386000000
2010Operating cash flow3290000000
2011Operating cash flow3432000000
2012Operating cash flow2987000000
2013Operating cash flow3258000000
2014Operating cash flow3681000000
2015Operating cash flow3843000000
2016Operating cash flow4666000000
2017Operating cash flow5079000000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2008Free cash flowUnavailable
2009Free cash flowUnavailable
2010Free cash flowUnavailable
2011Free cash flowUnavailable
2012Free cash flowUnavailable
2013Free cash flowUnavailable
2014Free cash flowUnavailable
2015Free cash flowUnavailable
2016Free cash flowUnavailable
2017Free cash flowUnavailable

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

59% 2017
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.64%48%32%16%0%2008-12-312013-12-312017
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2008-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
2009-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2010-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2011-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2012-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2013-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2014-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2015-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2016-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2017Liabilities / assets59%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

1.08× 2017
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.1.69×1.27×0.84×0.42×0.00×2008-12-3120132017
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2008-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2009Current assets / current liabilities1.45×
2010Current assets / current liabilities1.51×
2011Current assets / current liabilities1.51×
2012Current assets / current liabilities1.35×
2013Current assets / current liabilities1.49×
2014Current assets / current liabilities1.43×
2015Current assets / current liabilities1.56×
2016Current assets / current liabilities1.39×
2017Current assets / current liabilities1.08×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
2008 2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31
−USD 13.4 billion
Exact value

Exact value: -13398000000 USD

2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31: -13398000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 4.29 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 4292000000 USD

2008-01-01 – 2008-12-31: 4292000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2009 2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31
USD 2.48 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 2477000000 USD

2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31: 2477000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 3.39 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 3386000000 USD

2009-01-01 – 2009-12-31: 3386000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2010 2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31
USD 2.58 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 2578000000 USD

2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31: 2578000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 3.29 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 3290000000 USD

2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31: 3290000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2011 2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31
USD 2.89 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 2886000000 USD

2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31: 2886000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 3.43 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 3432000000 USD

2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31: 3432000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2012 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31
USD 2.93 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 2925000000 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: 2925000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.99 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 2987000000 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: 2987000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31
USD 3.69 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 3691000000 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: 3691000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 3.26 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 3258000000 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: 3258000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2014 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31
USD 3.83 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 3827000000 USD

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: 3827000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 3.68 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 3681000000 USD

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: 3681000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2015 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31
USD 3.83 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 3833000000 USD

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: 3833000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 3.84 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 3843000000 USD

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: 3843000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2016 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31
USD 3.93 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 3926000000 USD

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: 3926000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 4.67 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 4666000000 USD

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: 4666000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2017 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31
USD 5.25 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 5247000000 USD

2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31: 5247000000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 5.08 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 5079000000 USD

2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31: 5079000000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

98 filings · 4,633 latest values · 4,633 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0001105705, 1105705, TWX, edgar:1105705

Also known as AOL TIME WARNER INC, TIME WARNER INC, TIME WARNER INC., TIME WARNER LLC, WARNER MEDIA, LLC