DIGITAL ISLAND INC

EDGAR

13 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1999-08-12 to 2001-08-14. Explore the available filing history and original sources.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

35.6 million USD

2001-06-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Operating margin

-244.05%

2001-06-30 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: -86835000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 35581000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

-68.7 million USD

2001-06-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: -199563000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: -130903000 USD Source

Free cash flow

-108 million USD

2001-06-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: -199563000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: -130903000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 147479000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 108079000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
150 million USD Source
Exact value

150308000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
Not available

Trailing twelve months

The four most recent complete quarters added together. This gives a full-year view that includes the latest quarterly results.

Revenue

124 million USD

2000-07-01 – 2001-06-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 59055000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-09-30 Source
  • Revenue: 34990000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-06-30 Source
  • Revenue: 31640000 USD · 2000-10-01 – 2000-12-31 Source
  • Revenue: 32830000 USD · 2001-01-01 – 2001-03-31 Source
  • Revenue: 35581000 USD · 2001-04-01 – 2001-06-30 Source

Net income

-1.54 billion USD

2000-07-01 – 2001-06-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Net income: -329875000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-09-30 Source
  • Net income: -216859000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-06-30 Source
  • Net income: -142501000 USD · 2000-10-01 – 2000-12-31 Source
  • Net income: -1191470000 USD · 2001-01-01 – 2001-03-31 Source
  • Net income: -88483000 USD · 2001-04-01 – 2001-06-30 Source

Capital expenditure

199 million USD

2000-07-01 – 2001-06-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Capital expenditure: 130523000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 79153000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-06-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 44894000 USD · 2000-10-01 – 2000-12-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 108079000 USD · 2000-10-01 – 2001-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 44894000 USD · 2000-10-01 – 2000-12-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 147479000 USD · 2000-10-01 – 2001-06-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 108079000 USD · 2000-10-01 – 2001-03-31 Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2001-08-14.

Financial data available through: 2000-09-30.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2000-09-30
  • Operating income: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2000-09-30
  • Net income: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2000-09-30
  • Operating cash flow: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2000-09-30
  • Capital expenditure: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2000-09-30
  • Total assets: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 2000-09-30
  • Total liabilities: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 2000-09-30
  • Current assets: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 2000-09-30
  • Current liabilities: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 2000-09-30
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2000-09-30
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +375.1%

    Prior period

    USD 12.43 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 59.06 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    59055000 − 12431000 = 46624000 USD

    12431000 USD · 1998-10-01 – 1999-09-30

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    59055000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-09-30

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    −USD 278.94 million

    Prior period

    −USD 50.94 million

    –

    Current period

    −USD 329.88 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    -329875000 − -50938000 = -278937000 USD

    -50938000 USD · 1998-10-01 – 1999-09-30

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    -329875000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-09-30

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    −USD 121.67 million

    Prior period

    −USD 39.73 million

    –

    Current period

    −USD 161.4 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    -161398000 − -39730000 = -121668000 USD

    -39730000 USD · 1998-10-01 – 1999-09-30

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    -161398000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-09-30

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    +810.4%

    Prior period

    USD 14.34 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 130.52 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    130523000 − 14337000 = 116186000 USD

    14337000 USD · 1998-10-01 – 1999-09-30

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    130523000 USD · 1999-10-01 – 2000-09-30

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2000 1999-10-01 – 2000-09-30

  • Revenue USD 59.06 million 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived USD 401.49 million 680% of revenue
  • Operating income −USD 342.43 million −580% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived −USD 12.56 million −21% of revenue
  • Net income −USD 329.88 million −559% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow −USD 161.4 million −273% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 130.52 million 221% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived −USD 291.92 million −494% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 1997 Operating loss: operating costs were 2,566% of revenue.
  • 1998 Operating loss: operating costs were 831% of revenue.
  • 1999 Operating loss: operating costs were 522% of revenue.
  • 2000 Operating loss: operating costs were 680% of revenue.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
1997 1996-10-01 – 1997-09-30218000 5593000 Derived -5375000 -86000 Derived -5289000 -5208000 Derived
Source
1998 1997-10-01 – 1998-09-302343000 19459000 Derived -17116000 -352000 Derived -16764000 -16913000 Derived
Source
1999 1998-10-01 – 1999-09-3012431000 64918000 Derived -52487000 -1549000 Derived -50938000 -54067000 Derived
Source
2000 1999-10-01 – 2000-09-3059055000 401489000 Derived -342434000 -12559000 Derived -329875000 -291921000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 59.1M 2000
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.63.8M47.8M31.9M15.9M0.01997199819992000
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1997Revenue218000
1998Revenue2343000
1999Revenue12431000
2000Revenue59055000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

375.1% 2000
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.1,053%790%526%263%0%1997199819992000
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1997Year over yearNo prior comparable period
1998Year over year974.8%
1999Year over year430.6%
2000Year over year375.1%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin -579.9% 2000
Net margin -558.6% 2000
Free cash flow margin -494.3% 2000
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.197%-518%-1,233%-1,948%-2,663%1997199819992000
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1997Operating margin-2,465.6%
1998Operating margin-730.5%
1999Operating margin-422.2%
2000Operating margin-579.9%
1997Net margin-2,426.1%
1998Net margin-715.5%
1999Net margin-409.8%
2000Net margin-558.6%
1997Free cash flow margin-2,389%
1998Free cash flow margin-721.9%
1999Free cash flow margin-434.9%
2000Free cash flow margin-494.3%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD -161.4M 2000
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.12.9M-33.9M-80.7M-127.5M-174.3M1997199819992000
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1997Operating cash flow-3080000
1998Operating cash flow-15679000
1999Operating cash flow-39730000
2000Operating cash flow-161398000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD -291.9M 2000
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.23.4M-61.3M-146.0M-230.6M-315.3M1997199819992000
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1997Free cash flow-5208000
1998Free cash flow-16913000
1999Free cash flow-54067000
2000Free cash flow-291921000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

20.5% 2000
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.34.0%25.5%17.0%8.5%0.0%1997-09-30199819992000
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1997-09-30Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
1998Liabilities / assets31.5%
1999Liabilities / assets26.4%
2000Liabilities / assets20.5%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

6.65× 2000
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.7.18×5.39×3.59×1.80×0.00×1997-09-30199819992000
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1997-09-30Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
1998Current assets / current liabilities3.75×
1999Current assets / current liabilities3.75×
2000Current assets / current liabilities6.65×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
1997 1996-10-01 – 1997-09-30
−USD 5.29 million
Exact value

Exact value: -5289000 USD

1996-10-01 – 1997-09-30: -5289000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 3.08 million
Exact value

Exact value: -3080000 USD

1996-10-01 – 1997-09-30: -3080000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.13 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2128000 USD

1996-10-01 – 1997-09-30: 2128000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 5.21 million
Calculation and evidence

-3080000 − 2128000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -5208000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1998 1997-10-01 – 1998-09-30
−USD 16.76 million
Exact value

Exact value: -16764000 USD

1997-10-01 – 1998-09-30: -16764000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 15.68 million
Exact value

Exact value: -15679000 USD

1997-10-01 – 1998-09-30: -15679000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.23 million
Exact value

Exact value: 1234000 USD

1997-10-01 – 1998-09-30: 1234000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 16.91 million
Calculation and evidence

-15679000 − 1234000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -16913000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1999 1998-10-01 – 1999-09-30
−USD 50.94 million
Exact value

Exact value: -50938000 USD

1998-10-01 – 1999-09-30: -50938000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 39.73 million
Exact value

Exact value: -39730000 USD

1998-10-01 – 1999-09-30: -39730000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 14.34 million
Exact value

Exact value: 14337000 USD

1998-10-01 – 1999-09-30: 14337000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 54.07 million
Calculation and evidence

-39730000 − 14337000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -54067000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2000 1999-10-01 – 2000-09-30
−USD 329.88 million
Exact value

Exact value: -329875000 USD

1999-10-01 – 2000-09-30: -329875000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 161.4 million
Exact value

Exact value: -161398000 USD

1999-10-01 – 2000-09-30: -161398000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 130.52 million
Exact value

Exact value: 130523000 USD

1999-10-01 – 2000-09-30: 130523000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 291.92 million
Calculation and evidence

-161398000 − 130523000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -291921000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

13 filings · 0 latest values · 0 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0001084329, 1084329, edgar:1084329