SERENA SOFTWARE INC

EDGAR

59 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1999-04-22 to 2013-11-27. Reported financial figures are available; chart coverage varies by period.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

46.1 million USD

2014 Q3 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Operating margin

14.04%

2014 Q3 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: 6472000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 46111000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

-2.69 million USD

2014 Q3 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 4372000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 7061000 USD Source

Free cash flow

-2.84 million USD

2014 Q3 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 4372000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 7061000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 422000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 275000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
99.4 million USD Source
Exact value

99354000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
410 million USD Source
Exact value

410042000 USD

Shares outstanding
99.2 million shares Source
Exact value

99193365 shares

Reported share-count change

0.44% · 439 thousand shares

Year-over-year change in reported shares. Splits, issuance and buybacks can affect this figure; it does not isolate employee compensation or economic dilution.

Exact inputs and evidence
  • 98754671 shares · 2012-10-31· Source
  • 99193365 shares · 2013-10-31· Source

Trailing twelve months

The four most recent complete quarters added together. This gives a full-year view that includes the latest quarterly results.

Capital expenditure

582 thousand USD

2012-11-01 – 2013-10-31

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Capital expenditure: 2036000 USD · 2012-02-01 – 2013-01-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 1876000 USD · 2012-02-01 – 2012-10-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 79000 USD · 2013-02-01 – 2013-04-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 275000 USD · 2013-02-01 – 2013-07-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 79000 USD · 2013-02-01 – 2013-04-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 422000 USD · 2013-02-01 – 2013-10-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 275000 USD · 2013-02-01 – 2013-07-31 Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2013-11-27.

Financial data available through: 2013-01-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2013-01-31
  • Operating income: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2013-01-31
  • Net income: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2013-01-31
  • Operating cash flow: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2013-01-31
  • Capital expenditure: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2013-01-31
  • Total assets: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2013-01-31
  • Total liabilities: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2013-01-31
  • Current assets: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2013-01-31
  • Current liabilities: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2013-01-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2013-01-31
  • Long-term debt including current maturities: 2 of 11 periods available· newest 2013-01-31
  • Shares outstanding: 2 of 11 periods available· newest 2013-01-31

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    -7.3%

    Prior period

    USD 219.54 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 203.44 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    203437000 − 219541000 = -16104000 USD

    219541000 USD · 2011-02-01 – 2012-01-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    203437000 USD · 2012-02-01 – 2013-01-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    -72.2%

    Prior period

    USD 8.94 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 2.48 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    2483000 − 8944000 = -6461000 USD

    8944000 USD · 2011-02-01 – 2012-01-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    2483000 USD · 2012-02-01 – 2013-01-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    +2.8%

    Prior period

    USD 32.25 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 33.15 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    33148000 − 32245000 = 903000 USD

    32245000 USD · 2011-02-01 – 2012-01-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    33148000 USD · 2012-02-01 – 2013-01-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    -41.6%

    Prior period

    USD 3.49 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 2.04 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    2036000 − 3489000 = -1453000 USD

    3489000 USD · 2011-02-01 – 2012-01-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    2036000 USD · 2012-02-01 – 2013-01-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2013 2012-02-01 – 2013-01-31

  • Revenue USD 203.44 million 100% of revenue
  • Cost of revenue USD 36.41 million 18% of revenue
  • Operating expenses USD 138.23 million 68% of revenue
  • Operating income USD 28.8 million 14% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived USD 26.32 million 13% of revenue
  • Net income USD 2.48 million 1.2% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 33.15 million 16% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 2.04 million 1% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived USD 31.11 million 15% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 2004 20%71%
  • 2005 90%
  • 2006 14%80%
  • 2007 Operating loss: operating costs were 260% of revenue.
  • 2008 Net loss: net income was −10% of revenue.
  • 2009 Operating loss: operating costs were 223% of revenue.
  • 2011 Net loss: net income was −4.3% of revenue.
  • 2012 13%83%
  • 2013 13%86%
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
2004 2003-02-01 – 2004-01-31105556000 74846000 Derived 30710000 9359000 Derived 21351000 33239000 Derived
Source
2005 2004-02-01 – 2005-01-31208105000 187148000 Derived 20957000 11471000 Derived 9486000 41511000 Derived
Source
2006 2005-02-01 – 2006-01-31255772000 204705000 Derived 51067000 15800000 Derived 35267000 78356000 Derived
Source
2007 2006-01-31 – 2007-01-3019708000 51329000 Derived -31621000 -6905000 Derived -24716000 Unavailable
Source
2008 2007-02-01 – 2008-01-31270195000 264145000 Derived 6050000 33160000 Derived -27110000 37120000 Derived
Source
2009 2008-02-01 – 2009-01-31260237000 580719000 Derived -320482000 19024000 Derived -339506000 32534000 Derived
Source
2011 2010-02-01 – 2011-01-31214386000 211474000 Derived 2912000 12179000 Derived -9267000 43631000 Derived
Source
2012 2011-02-01 – 2012-01-31219541000 181374000 Derived 38167000 29223000 Derived 8944000 28756000 Derived
Source
2013 2012-02-01 – 2013-01-31203437000 174638000 Derived 28799000 26316000 Derived 2483000 31112000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 203.4M 2013
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.291.8M218.9M145.9M73.0M0.0200320082013
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2003Revenue95775000
2004Revenue105556000
2005Revenue208105000
2006Revenue255772000
2007Revenue19708000
2008Revenue270195000
2009Revenue260237000
2011Revenue214386000
2012Revenue219541000
2013Revenue203437000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

-7.3% 2013
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.1,380%985%589%194%-201%200320082013
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2003Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2004Year over year10.2%
2005Year over year97.2%
2006Year over year22.9%
2007Year over year-92.3%
2008Year over year1,271%
2009Year over year-3.7%
2011Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2012Year over year2.4%
2013Year over year-7.3%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 14.2% 2013
Net margin 1.2% 2013
Free cash flow margin 15.3% 2013
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.50%-7%-63%-120%-176%200320082013
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2003Operating margin34%
2004Operating margin29.1%
2005Operating margin10.1%
2006Operating margin20%
2007Operating margin-160.4%
2008Operating margin2.2%
2009Operating margin-123.2%
2011Operating margin1.4%
2012Operating margin17.4%
2013Operating margin14.2%
2003Net margin24.2%
2004Net margin20.2%
2005Net margin4.6%
2006Net margin13.8%
2007Net margin-125.4%
2008Net margin-10%
2009Net margin-130.5%
2011Net margin-4.3%
2012Net margin4.1%
2013Net margin1.2%
2003Free cash flow marginNot reported
2004Free cash flow marginNot reported
2005Free cash flow margin19.9%
2006Free cash flow margin30.6%
2007Free cash flow marginNot reported
2008Free cash flow margin13.7%
2009Free cash flow margin12.5%
2011Free cash flow margin20.4%
2012Free cash flow margin13.1%
2013Free cash flow margin15.3%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 33.1M 2013
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.87.9M65.9M44.0M22.0M0.0200320082013
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2003Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
2004Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
2005Operating cash flow43481000
2006Operating cash flow81395000
2007Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
2008Operating cash flow40839000
2009Operating cash flow36456000
2011Operating cash flow46016000
2012Operating cash flow32245000
2013Operating cash flow33148000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD 31.1M 2013
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.84.6M63.5M42.3M21.2M0.0200320082013
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2003Free cash flowUnavailableNo source recorded
2004Free cash flowUnavailableNo source recorded
2005Free cash flow41511000
2006Free cash flow78356000
2007Free cash flowUnavailableNo source recorded
2008Free cash flow37120000
2009Free cash flow32534000
2011Free cash flow43631000
2012Free cash flow28756000
2013Free cash flow31112000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

81.2% 2013
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.93%70%47%23%0%200320082013
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2003Liabilities / assets19.5%
2004Liabilities / assets58.8%
2005Liabilities / assets57.2%
2006Liabilities / assets55%
2007Liabilities / assets63.9%
2008Liabilities / assets62.7%
2009Liabilities / assets86.3%
2011-01-31Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
2012Liabilities / assets82.9%
2013Liabilities / assets81.2%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

1.4× 2013
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.7.72×5.79×3.86×1.93×0.00×200320082013
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2003Current assets / current liabilities3.91×
2004Current assets / current liabilities7.15×
2005Current assets / current liabilities1.75×
2006Current assets / current liabilities2.44×
2007Current assets / current liabilities0.86×
2008Current assets / current liabilities0.86×
2009Current assets / current liabilities1.28×
2011-01-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2012Current assets / current liabilities1.51×
2013Current assets / current liabilities1.4×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
2005 2004-02-01 – 2005-01-31
USD 9.49 million
Exact value

Exact value: 9486000 USD

2004-02-01 – 2005-01-31: 9486000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 43.48 million
Exact value

Exact value: 43481000 USD

2004-02-01 – 2005-01-31: 43481000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.97 million
Exact value

Exact value: 1970000 USD

2004-02-01 – 2005-01-31: 1970000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 41.51 million
Calculation and evidence

43481000 − 1970000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 41511000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2006 2005-02-01 – 2006-01-31
USD 35.27 million
Exact value

Exact value: 35267000 USD

2005-02-01 – 2006-01-31: 35267000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 81.4 million
Exact value

Exact value: 81395000 USD

2005-02-01 – 2006-01-31: 81395000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 3.04 million
Exact value

Exact value: 3039000 USD

2005-02-01 – 2006-01-31: 3039000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 78.36 million
Calculation and evidence

81395000 − 3039000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 78356000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2007 2006-01-31 – 2007-01-30
−USD 24.72 million
Exact value

Exact value: -24716000 USD

2006-01-31 – 2007-01-30: -24716000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow + Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2007 2006-02-01 – 2007-01-31
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 6.08 million
Exact value

Exact value: 6076000 USD

2006-02-01 – 2007-01-31: 6076000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 221,000
Exact value

Exact value: 221000 USD

2006-02-01 – 2007-01-31: 221000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 5.86 million
Calculation and evidence

6076000 − 221000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 5855000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2008 2007-02-01 – 2008-01-31
−USD 27.11 million
Exact value

Exact value: -27110000 USD

2007-02-01 – 2008-01-31: -27110000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 40.84 million
Exact value

Exact value: 40839000 USD

2007-02-01 – 2008-01-31: 40839000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 3.72 million
Exact value

Exact value: 3719000 USD

2007-02-01 – 2008-01-31: 3719000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 37.12 million
Calculation and evidence

40839000 − 3719000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 37120000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2009 2008-02-01 – 2009-01-31
−USD 339.51 million
Exact value

Exact value: -339506000 USD

2008-02-01 – 2009-01-31: -339506000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 36.46 million
Exact value

Exact value: 36456000 USD

2008-02-01 – 2009-01-31: 36456000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 3.92 million
Exact value

Exact value: 3922000 USD

2008-02-01 – 2009-01-31: 3922000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 32.53 million
Calculation and evidence

36456000 − 3922000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 32534000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2010 2009-02-01 – 2010-01-31
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 760,000
Exact value

Exact value: 760000 USD

2009-02-01 – 2010-01-31: 760000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow is unavailable for this period.

2011 2010-02-01 – 2011-01-31
−USD 9.27 million
Exact value

Exact value: -9267000 USD

2010-02-01 – 2011-01-31: -9267000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 46.02 million
Exact value

Exact value: 46016000 USD

2010-02-01 – 2011-01-31: 46016000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.39 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2385000 USD

2010-02-01 – 2011-01-31: 2385000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 43.63 million
Calculation and evidence

46016000 − 2385000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 43631000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2012 2011-02-01 – 2012-01-31
USD 8.94 million
Exact value

Exact value: 8944000 USD

2011-02-01 – 2012-01-31: 8944000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 32.25 million
Exact value

Exact value: 32245000 USD

2011-02-01 – 2012-01-31: 32245000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 3.49 million
Exact value

Exact value: 3489000 USD

2011-02-01 – 2012-01-31: 3489000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 28.76 million
Calculation and evidence

32245000 − 3489000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 28756000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2013 2012-02-01 – 2013-01-31
USD 2.48 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2483000 USD

2012-02-01 – 2013-01-31: 2483000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 33.15 million
Exact value

Exact value: 33148000 USD

2012-02-01 – 2013-01-31: 33148000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.04 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2036000 USD

2012-02-01 – 2013-01-31: 2036000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 31.11 million
Calculation and evidence

33148000 − 2036000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 31112000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

59 filings · 1,282 latest values · 1,282 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0001073967, 1073967, SRNA, edgar:1073967

Also known as SERENA SOFTWARE INC