WHITTAKER CORP

EDGAR

27 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1994-03-09 to 1999-06-14. Explore the available filing history and original sources.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

40.3 million USD

1999-04-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Operating margin

37.96%

1999-04-30 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: 15311000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 40332000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

12.9 million USD

1999-04-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 12888000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 4600 USD Source

Free cash flow

11.9 million USD

1999-04-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 12888000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 4600 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 997000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 326 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
230 thousand USD Source
Exact value

230000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
Not available

Trailing twelve months

The four most recent complete quarters added together. This gives a full-year view that includes the latest quarterly results.

Net income

-1.07 million USD

1998-05-01 – 1999-04-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Net income: 29495000 USD · 1998-05-01 – 1998-07-31 Source
  • Net income: -773000 USD · 1997-11-01 – 1998-10-31 Source
  • Net income: 45765000 USD · 1997-11-01 – 1998-07-31 Source
  • Net income: 7034000 USD · 1998-11-01 – 1999-01-31 Source
  • Net income: 8940000 USD · 1999-02-01 – 1999-04-30 Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 1999-06-14.

Financial data available through: 1998-10-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 1998-10-31
  • Operating income: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 1998-10-31
  • Net income: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 1998-10-31
  • Operating cash flow: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 1998-10-31
  • Capital expenditure: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 1998-10-31
  • Total assets: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 1998-10-31
  • liabilities: No compatible figures in this window
  • Current assets: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 1998-10-31
  • Current liabilities: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 1998-10-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 1998-10-31
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    +46.4%

    Prior period

    USD 89.78 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 131.48 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    131477000 − 89782000 = 41695000 USD

    89782000 USD · 1996-11-01 – 1997-10-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    131477000 USD · 1997-11-01 – 1998-10-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    +USD 131.11 million

    Prior period

    −USD 131.89 million

    –

    Current period

    −USD 773,000

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    -773000 − -131886000 = 131113000 USD

    -131886000 USD · 1996-11-01 – 1997-10-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    -773000 USD · 1997-11-01 – 1998-10-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    +505,294.4%

    Prior period

    USD 4,171

    –

    Current period

    USD 21.08 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    21080000 − 4171 = 21075829 USD

    4171 USD · 1996-11-01 – 1997-10-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    21080000 USD · 1997-11-01 – 1998-10-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    +17.1%

    Prior period

    USD 2.18 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 2.56 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    2555000 − 2182000 = 373000 USD

    2182000 USD · 1996-11-01 – 1997-10-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    2555000 USD · 1997-11-01 – 1998-10-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

1998 1997-11-01 – 1998-10-31

  • Revenue USD 131.48 million 100% of revenue
  • Cost of revenue USD 65.92 million 50% of revenue
  • Operating expenses USD 26.2 million 20% of revenue
  • Operating income USD 39.36 million 30% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived USD 40.13 million 31% of revenue
  • Net income −USD 773,000 −0.6% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 21.08 million 16% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 2.56 million 1.9% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived USD 18.53 million 14% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 1992 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 1993 86%
  • 1994 84%
  • 1995 20%80%
  • 1996 Net loss: net income was −0% of revenue.
  • 1997 Operating loss: operating costs were 112% of revenue.
  • 1998 Net loss: net income was −0.6% of revenue.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
1992 1991-11-01 – 1992-10-31159915000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable15677000 Unavailable
Source
1993 1992-11-01 – 1993-10-31115386000 99674000 Derived 15712000 8456000 Derived 7256000 12179000 Derived
Source
1994 1993-11-01 – 1994-10-31126448000 106435000 Derived 20013000 9952000 Derived 10061000 19015000 Derived
Source
1995 1994-11-01 – 1995-10-3181298000 65173000 Derived 16125000 16123762 Derived 1238 20753995 Derived
Source
1996 1995-11-01 – 1996-10-3198647000 78571000 Derived 20076000 20102944 Derived -26944 427339 Derived
Source
1997 1996-11-01 – 1997-10-3189782000 100620000 Derived -10838000 121048000 Derived -131886000 -2177829 Derived
Source
1998 1997-11-01 – 1998-10-31131477000 92119000 Derived 39358000 40131000 Derived -773000 18525000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 131.5M 1998
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.172.7M129.5M86.4M43.2M0.0199219951998
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1992Revenue159915000
1993Revenue115386000
1994Revenue126448000
1995Revenue81298000
1996Revenue98647000
1997Revenue89782000
1998Revenue131477000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

46.4% 1998
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.53%29%5%-18%-42%199219951998
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1992Year over yearNo prior comparable period
1993Year over year-27.8%
1994Year over year9.6%
1995Year over year-35.7%
1996Year over year21.3%
1997Year over year-9%
1998Year over year46.4%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 29.9% 1998
Net margin -0.6% 1998
Free cash flow margin 14.1% 1998
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.44%-7%-58%-110%-161%1992-10-3119951998
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1992-10-31Operating marginNot reported
1993Operating margin13.6%
1994Operating margin15.8%
1995Operating margin19.8%
1996Operating margin20.4%
1997Operating margin-12.1%
1998Operating margin29.9%
1992Net margin9.8%
1993Net margin6.3%
1994Net margin8%
1995Net margin0%
1996Net margin-0%
1997Net margin-146.9%
1998Net margin-0.6%
1992Free cash flow marginNot reported
1993Free cash flow margin10.6%
1994Free cash flow margin15%
1995Free cash flow margin25.5%
1996Free cash flow margin0.4%
1997Free cash flow margin-2.4%
1998Free cash flow margin14.1%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 21.1M 1998
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.23.3M17.5M11.6M5.8M0.0199219951998
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1992Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
1993Operating cash flow13476000
1994Operating cash flow21560000
1995Operating cash flow20756000
1996Operating cash flow429000
1997Operating cash flow4171
1998Operating cash flow21080000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD 18.5M 1998
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.22.6M15.9M9.3M2.6M-4.0M199219951998
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1992Free cash flowUnavailableNo source recorded
1993Free cash flow12179000
1994Free cash flow19015000
1995Free cash flow20753995
1996Free cash flow427339
1997Free cash flow-2177829
1998Free cash flow18525000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1992-10-31Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
1993-10-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1994-10-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1995-10-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1996-10-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1997-10-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
1998-10-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

2.29× 1998
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.3.43×2.57×1.71×0.86×0.00×1992-10-3119951998
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1992-10-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
1993Current assets / current liabilities2.77×
1994Current assets / current liabilities3.18×
1995Current assets / current liabilities2.44×
1996Current assets / current liabilities0.79×
1997Current assets / current liabilities0.54×
1998Current assets / current liabilities2.29×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
1992 1991-11-01 – 1992-10-31
USD 15.68 million
Exact value

Exact value: 15677000 USD

1991-11-01 – 1992-10-31: 15677000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Operating cash flow + Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

1993 1992-11-01 – 1993-10-31
USD 7.26 million
Exact value

Exact value: 7256000 USD

1992-11-01 – 1993-10-31: 7256000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 13.48 million
Exact value

Exact value: 13476000 USD

1992-11-01 – 1993-10-31: 13476000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.3 million
Exact value

Exact value: 1297000 USD

1992-11-01 – 1993-10-31: 1297000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 12.18 million
Calculation and evidence

13476000 − 1297000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 12179000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1994 1993-11-01 – 1994-10-31
USD 10.06 million
Exact value

Exact value: 10061000 USD

1993-11-01 – 1994-10-31: 10061000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 21.56 million
Exact value

Exact value: 21560000 USD

1993-11-01 – 1994-10-31: 21560000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.55 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2545000 USD

1993-11-01 – 1994-10-31: 2545000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 19.02 million
Calculation and evidence

21560000 − 2545000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 19015000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1995 1994-11-01 – 1995-10-31
USD 1,238
Exact value

Exact value: 1238 USD

1994-11-01 – 1995-10-31: 1238 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 20.76 million
Exact value

Exact value: 20756000 USD

1994-11-01 – 1995-10-31: 20756000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2,005
Exact value

Exact value: 2005 USD

1994-11-01 – 1995-10-31: 2005 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 20.75 million
Calculation and evidence

20756000 − 2005 USD

Exact free cash flow: 20753995 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1996 1995-11-01 – 1996-10-31
−USD 26,944
Exact value

Exact value: -26944 USD

1995-11-01 – 1996-10-31: -26944 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 429,000
Exact value

Exact value: 429000 USD

1995-11-01 – 1996-10-31: 429000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1,661
Exact value

Exact value: 1661 USD

1995-11-01 – 1996-10-31: 1661 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 427,339
Calculation and evidence

429000 − 1661 USD

Exact free cash flow: 427339 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1997 1996-11-01 – 1997-10-31
−USD 131.89 million
Exact value

Exact value: -131886000 USD

1996-11-01 – 1997-10-31: -131886000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 4,171
Exact value

Exact value: 4171 USD

1996-11-01 – 1997-10-31: 4171 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.18 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2182000 USD

1996-11-01 – 1997-10-31: 2182000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 2.18 million
Calculation and evidence

4171 − 2182000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -2177829 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1998 1997-11-01 – 1998-10-31
−USD 773,000
Exact value

Exact value: -773000 USD

1997-11-01 – 1998-10-31: -773000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 21.08 million
Exact value

Exact value: 21080000 USD

1997-11-01 – 1998-10-31: 21080000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2.56 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2555000 USD

1997-11-01 – 1998-10-31: 2555000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 18.53 million
Calculation and evidence

21080000 − 2555000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 18525000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

27 filings · 0 latest values · 0 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0000106945, 106945, edgar:106945