GENEREX BIOTECHNOLOGY CORP

EDGAR

139 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1999-03-26 to 2021-06-21. Reported financial figures are available; chart coverage varies by period.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

20.7 thousand USD

2021 Q3 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Operating margin

-30,748.76%

2021 Q3 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: -6363455 USD Source
  • Revenue: 20695 USD Source

Operating cash flow

577 thousand USD

2021 Q3 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: -1739029 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: -2315721 USD Source

Free cash flow

577 thousand USD

2021 Q3 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: -1739029 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: -2315721 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 0 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 0 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
1.68 million USD Source
Exact value

1675027 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
618 thousand USD Source
Exact value

617665 USD

Shares outstanding
116 million shares Source
Exact value

116278690 shares

Reported share-count change

45.46% · 36.3 million shares

Year-over-year change in reported shares. Splits, issuance and buybacks can affect this figure; it does not isolate employee compensation or economic dilution.

Exact inputs and evidence
  • 79936996 shares · 2020-04-30· Source
  • 116278690 shares · 2021-04-30· Source

Trailing twelve months

The four most recent complete quarters added together. This gives a full-year view that includes the latest quarterly results.

Revenue

693 thousand USD

2020-05-01 – 2021-04-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 2661396 USD · 2019-08-01 – 2020-07-31 Source
  • Revenue: 2077764 USD · 2019-08-01 – 2020-04-30 Source
  • Revenue: 88435 USD · 2020-08-01 – 2020-10-31 Source
  • Revenue: 0 USD · 2020-11-01 – 2021-01-31 Source
  • Revenue: 20695 USD · 2021-02-01 – 2021-04-30 Source

Net income

-38.8 million USD

2020-05-01 – 2021-04-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Net income: -34232093 USD · 2019-08-01 – 2020-07-31 Source
  • Net income: -22353394 USD · 2019-08-01 – 2020-04-30 Source
  • Net income: -10989076 USD · 2020-08-01 – 2020-10-31 Source
  • Net income: -24406621 USD · 2020-11-01 – 2021-01-31 Source
  • Net income: 8485335 USD · 2021-02-01 – 2021-04-30 Source

Capital expenditure

0 USD

2020-05-01 – 2021-04-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Capital expenditure: 4616 USD · 2019-08-01 – 2020-07-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 4616 USD · 2019-08-01 – 2020-04-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 0 USD · 2020-08-01 – 2020-10-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 0 USD · 2020-08-01 – 2021-01-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 0 USD · 2020-08-01 – 2020-10-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 0 USD · 2020-08-01 – 2021-04-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 0 USD · 2020-08-01 – 2021-01-31 Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2021-06-21.

Financial data available through: 2020-07-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 2020-07-31
  • Operating income: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2020-07-31
  • Net income: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2020-07-31
  • Operating cash flow: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2020-07-31
  • Capital expenditure: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2020-07-31
  • Total assets: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 2020-07-31
  • Total liabilities: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 2020-07-31
  • Current assets: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 2020-07-31
  • Current liabilities: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 2020-07-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 2020-07-31
  • Long-term debt including current maturities: 1 of 11 periods available· newest 2011-07-31
  • Shares outstanding: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 2020-07-31

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    -57.1%

    Prior period

    USD 6.2 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 2.66 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    2661396 − 6203761 = -3542365 USD

    6203761 USD · 2018-08-01 – 2019-07-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    2661396 USD · 2019-08-01 – 2020-07-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    −USD 23.23 million

    Prior period

    −USD 11.01 million

    –

    Current period

    −USD 34.23 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    -34232093 − -11006794 = -23225299 USD

    -11006794 USD · 2018-08-01 – 2019-07-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    -34232093 USD · 2019-08-01 – 2020-07-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    +USD 3.45 million

    Prior period

    −USD 9.57 million

    –

    Current period

    −USD 6.12 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    -6121259 − -9574193 = 3452934 USD

    -9574193 USD · 2018-08-01 – 2019-07-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    -6121259 USD · 2019-08-01 – 2020-07-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    -98.4%

    Prior period

    USD 289,917

    –

    Current period

    USD 4,616

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    4616 − 289917 = -285301 USD

    289917 USD · 2018-08-01 – 2019-07-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    4616 USD · 2019-08-01 – 2020-07-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2020 2019-08-01 – 2020-07-31

  • Revenue USD 2.66 million 100% of revenue
  • Cost of revenue USD 579,857 22% of revenue
  • Operating expenses USD 20.02 million 752% of revenue
  • Operating income −USD 17.94 million −674% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived USD 16.29 million 612% of revenue
  • Net income −USD 34.23 million −1,286% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow −USD 6.12 million −230% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 4,616 0.2% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived −USD 6.13 million −230% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 2011 Operating loss: operating costs were 2,192% of revenue.
  • 2018 Operating loss: operating costs were 77,030% of revenue.
  • 2019 Operating loss: operating costs were 492% of revenue.
  • 2020 Operating loss: operating costs were 774% of revenue.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
2011 2010-08-01 – 2011-07-311172611 25705693 Derived -24533082 -2857215 Derived -21675867 -16983751 Derived
Source
2018 2017-08-01 – 2018-07-313244 2498853 Derived -2495609 -38444307 Derived 35948698 -2301766 Derived
Source
2019 2018-08-01 – 2019-07-316203761 30549202 Derived -24345441 -13338647 Derived -11006794 -9864110 Derived
Source
2020 2019-08-01 – 2020-07-312661396 20598606 Derived -17937210 16294883 Derived -34232093 -6125875 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 2.7M 2020
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.6.7M5.0M3.4M1.7M0.020102011201820192020
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2010Revenue1118509
2011Revenue1172611
2018Revenue3244
2019Revenue6203761
2020Revenue2661396

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

-57.1% 2020
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.206,434%150,987%95,540%40,094%-15,353%20102011201820192020
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2010Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2011Year over year4.8%
2018Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2019Year over year191,138%
2020Year over year-57.1%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin -674% 2020
Net margin -1,286.2% 2020
Free cash flow margin -230.2% 2020
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.1,202,967%859,291%515,615%171,939%-171,737%20102011201820192020
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2010Operating margin-2,631.2%
2011Operating margin-2,092.2%
2018Operating margin-76,930%
2019Operating margin-392.4%
2020Operating margin-674%
2010Net margin-2,260.1%
2011Net margin-1,848.5%
2018Net margin1,108,159.6%
2019Net margin-177.4%
2020Net margin-1,286.2%
2010Free cash flow marginNot reported
2011Free cash flow margin-1,448.4%
2018Free cash flow margin-70,954.6%
2019Free cash flow margin-159%
2020Free cash flow margin-230.2%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD -6.1M 2020
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.1.4M-3.6M-8.5M-13.4M-18.3M20102011201820192020
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2010Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
2011Operating cash flow-16931368
2018Operating cash flow-2293214
2019Operating cash flow-9574193
2020Operating cash flow-6121259

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD -6.1M 2020
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.1.4M-3.6M-8.5M-13.4M-18.3M20102011201820192020
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2010Free cash flowUnavailableNo source recorded
2011Free cash flow-16983751
2018Free cash flow-2301766
2019Free cash flow-9864110
2020Free cash flow-6125875

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

117.4% 2020
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.820%615%410%205%0%20102011201820192020
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2010Liabilities / assets63.5%
2011Liabilities / assets170.3%
2018Liabilities / assets759.7%
2019Liabilities / assets76.3%
2020Liabilities / assets117.4%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

0.03× 2020
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.2.16×1.62×1.08×0.54×0.00×20102011201820192020
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2010Current assets / current liabilities2×
2011Current assets / current liabilities0.4×
2018Current assets / current liabilities0.05×
2019Current assets / current liabilities0.03×
2020Current assets / current liabilities0.03×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
2011 2010-08-01 – 2011-07-31
−USD 21.68 million
Exact value

Exact value: -21675867 USD

2010-08-01 – 2011-07-31: -21675867 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 16.93 million
Exact value

Exact value: -16931368 USD

2010-08-01 – 2011-07-31: -16931368 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 52,383
Exact value

Exact value: 52383 USD

2010-08-01 – 2011-07-31: 52383 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 16.98 million
Calculation and evidence

-16931368 − 52383 USD

Exact free cash flow: -16983751 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2012 2011-08-01 – 2012-07-31
−USD 9.49 million
Exact value

Exact value: -9490278 USD

2011-08-01 – 2012-07-31: -9490278 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 8.04 million
Exact value

Exact value: -8043979 USD

2011-08-01 – 2012-07-31: -8043979 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 2,416
Exact value

Exact value: 2416 USD

2011-08-01 – 2012-07-31: 2416 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 8.05 million
Calculation and evidence

-8043979 − 2416 USD

Exact free cash flow: -8046395 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2013 2012-08-01 – 2013-07-31
−USD 8.55 million
Exact value

Exact value: -8554322 USD

2012-08-01 – 2013-07-31: -8554322 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 3.66 million
Exact value

Exact value: -3661234 USD

2012-08-01 – 2013-07-31: -3661234 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2014 2013-08-01 – 2014-07-31
−USD 1,417
Exact value

Exact value: -1417 USD

2013-08-01 – 2014-07-31: -1417 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 3.57 million
Exact value

Exact value: -3573625 USD

2013-08-01 – 2014-07-31: -3573625 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2015 2014-08-01 – 2015-07-31
−USD 2.19 million
Exact value

Exact value: -2193358 USD

2014-08-01 – 2015-07-31: -2193358 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 2.88 million
Exact value

Exact value: -2884736 USD

2014-08-01 – 2015-07-31: -2884736 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2016 2015-08-01 – 2016-07-31
−USD 3.22 million
Exact value

Exact value: -3223109 USD

2015-08-01 – 2016-07-31: -3223109 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 775,483
Exact value

Exact value: -775483 USD

2015-08-01 – 2016-07-31: -775483 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2017 2016-08-01 – 2017-07-31
−USD 76.83 million
Exact value

Exact value: -76832599 USD

2016-08-01 – 2017-07-31: -76832599 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 1.17 million
Exact value

Exact value: -1170349 USD

2016-08-01 – 2017-07-31: -1170349 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2018 2017-08-01 – 2018-07-31
USD 35.95 million
Exact value

Exact value: 35948698 USD

2017-08-01 – 2018-07-31: 35948698 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 2.29 million
Exact value

Exact value: -2293214 USD

2017-08-01 – 2018-07-31: -2293214 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 8,552
Exact value

Exact value: 8552 USD

2017-08-01 – 2018-07-31: 8552 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 2.3 million
Calculation and evidence

-2293214 − 8552 USD

Exact free cash flow: -2301766 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2019 2018-08-01 – 2019-07-31
−USD 11.01 million
Exact value

Exact value: -11006794 USD

2018-08-01 – 2019-07-31: -11006794 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 9.57 million
Exact value

Exact value: -9574193 USD

2018-08-01 – 2019-07-31: -9574193 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 289,917
Exact value

Exact value: 289917 USD

2018-08-01 – 2019-07-31: 289917 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 9.86 million
Calculation and evidence

-9574193 − 289917 USD

Exact free cash flow: -9864110 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2020 2019-08-01 – 2020-07-31
−USD 34.23 million
Exact value

Exact value: -34232093 USD

2019-08-01 – 2020-07-31: -34232093 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 6.12 million
Exact value

Exact value: -6121259 USD

2019-08-01 – 2020-07-31: -6121259 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 4,616
Exact value

Exact value: 4616 USD

2019-08-01 – 2020-07-31: 4616 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 6.13 million
Calculation and evidence

-6121259 − 4616 USD

Exact free cash flow: -6125875 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

139 filings · 2,980 latest values · 2,980 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0001059784, 1059784, GNBT, edgar:1059784, gnbt

Also known as GENEREX BIOTECHNOLOGY CORP