MFA FINANCIAL, INC.

EDGAR

181 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1998-05-15 to 2026-08-05. Reported financial figures are available; chart coverage varies by period.

Watchlist
Cash and cash equivalents
141 million USD Source
Exact value

141200000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
101 million shares Source
Exact value

101088000 shares

Reported share-count change

-1.54% · -1.58 million shares

Year-over-year change in reported shares. Splits, issuance and buybacks can affect this figure; it does not isolate employee compensation or economic dilution.

Exact inputs and evidence
  • 102669000 shares · 2025-06-30· Source
  • 101088000 shares · 2026-06-30· Source

Trailing twelve months

The four most recent complete quarters added together. This gives a full-year view that includes the latest quarterly results.

Net income

148 million USD

2025-07-01 – 2026-06-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Net income: 48104000 USD · 2025-07-01 – 2025-09-30 Source
  • Net income: 176783000 USD · 2025-01-01 – 2025-12-31 Source
  • Net income: 122464000 USD · 2025-01-01 – 2025-09-30 Source
  • Net income: -984000 USD · 2026-01-01 – 2026-03-31 Source
  • Net income: 46798000 USD · 2026-04-01 – 2026-06-30 Source

Operating cash flow

252 million USD

2025-07-01 – 2026-06-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating cash flow: 38619000 USD · 2025-01-01 – 2025-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 23894000 USD · 2025-01-01 – 2025-06-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 76245000 USD · 2025-01-01 – 2025-12-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 38619000 USD · 2025-01-01 – 2025-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 71070000 USD · 2026-01-01 – 2026-03-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 199863000 USD · 2026-01-01 – 2026-06-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 71070000 USD · 2026-01-01 – 2026-03-31 Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2026-08-05.

Financial data available through: 2025-12-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • revenue: No compatible figures in this window
  • operating income: No compatible figures in this window
  • Net income: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2025-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2025-12-31
  • Capital expenditure: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2022-12-31
  • Total assets: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2025-12-31
  • Total liabilities: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2025-12-31
  • current assets: No compatible figures in this window
  • current liabilities: No compatible figures in this window
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2025-12-31
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • Shares outstanding: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2025-12-31

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Net income

    +48.2%

    Prior period

    USD 119.25 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 176.78 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    176783000 − 119251000 = 57532000 USD

    119251000 USD · 2024-01-01 – 2024-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    176783000 USD · 2025-01-01 – 2025-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    -61.9%

    Prior period

    USD 200.12 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 76.25 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    76245000 − 200120000 = -123875000 USD

    200120000 USD · 2024-01-01 – 2024-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    76245000 USD · 2025-01-01 – 2025-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Comparable inputs unavailable for: Revenue, Capital expenditure.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

Revenue is not reported for this company, so its costs cannot be shown as a share of it.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
2016 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31
USD 312.67 million
Exact value

Exact value: 312668000 USD

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: 312668000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 179.39 million
Exact value

Exact value: 179391000 USD

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: 179391000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2017 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31
USD 322.39 million
Exact value

Exact value: 322393000 USD

2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31: 322393000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 176.51 million
Exact value

Exact value: 176512000 USD

2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31: 176512000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 872,000
Exact value

Exact value: 872000 USD

2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31: 872000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 175.64 million
Calculation and evidence

176512000 − 872000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 175640000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2018 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31
USD 301.8 million
Exact value

Exact value: 301801000 USD

2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31: 301801000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 147.88 million
Exact value

Exact value: 147881000 USD

2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31: 147881000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.13 million
Exact value

Exact value: 1133000 USD

2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31: 1133000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 146.75 million
Calculation and evidence

147881000 − 1133000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 146748000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2019 2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31
USD 378.12 million
Exact value

Exact value: 378117000 USD

2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31: 378117000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 215.78 million
Exact value

Exact value: 215775000 USD

2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31: 215775000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.88 million
Exact value

Exact value: 1879000 USD

2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31: 1879000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 213.9 million
Calculation and evidence

215775000 − 1879000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 213896000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2020 2020-01-01 – 2020-12-31
−USD 679.39 million
Exact value

Exact value: -679390000 USD

2020-01-01 – 2020-12-31: -679390000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 38.4 million
Exact value

Exact value: 38396000 USD

2020-01-01 – 2020-12-31: 38396000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 4.86 million
Exact value

Exact value: 4862000 USD

2020-01-01 – 2020-12-31: 4862000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 33.53 million
Calculation and evidence

38396000 − 4862000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 33534000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2021 2021-01-01 – 2021-12-31
USD 328.87 million
Exact value

Exact value: 328870000 USD

2021-01-01 – 2021-12-31: 328870000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 137.8 million
Exact value

Exact value: 137803000 USD

2021-01-01 – 2021-12-31: 137803000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 12.05 million
Exact value

Exact value: 12048000 USD

2021-01-01 – 2021-12-31: 12048000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 125.76 million
Calculation and evidence

137803000 − 12048000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 125755000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2022 2022-01-01 – 2022-12-31
−USD 231.58 million
Exact value

Exact value: -231581000 USD

2022-01-01 – 2022-12-31: -231581000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 355.35 million
Exact value

Exact value: 355349000 USD

2022-01-01 – 2022-12-31: 355349000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 300,000
Exact value

Exact value: 300000 USD

2022-01-01 – 2022-12-31: 300000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 355.05 million
Calculation and evidence

355349000 − 300000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 355049000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2023 2023-01-01 – 2023-12-31
USD 80.16 million
Exact value

Exact value: 80164000 USD

2023-01-01 – 2023-12-31: 80164000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 108.74 million
Exact value

Exact value: 108739000 USD

2023-01-01 – 2023-12-31: 108739000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2024 2024-01-01 – 2024-12-31
USD 119.25 million
Exact value

Exact value: 119251000 USD

2024-01-01 – 2024-12-31: 119251000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 200.12 million
Exact value

Exact value: 200120000 USD

2024-01-01 – 2024-12-31: 200120000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2025 2025-01-01 – 2025-12-31
USD 176.78 million
Exact value

Exact value: 176783000 USD

2025-01-01 – 2025-12-31: 176783000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 76.25 million
Exact value

Exact value: 76245000 USD

2025-01-01 – 2025-12-31: 76245000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

181 filings · 2,897 latest values · 2,897 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0001055160, 1055160, MFA, MFA-PB, MFA-PC, MFAN, MFAO, edgar:1055160

Also known as AMERICA FIRST MORTGAGE INVESTMENTS INC, MFA FINANCIAL, INC., MFA FINANCIAL, INC., MFA MORTGAGE INVESTMENTS