ENERGY EAST CORP

EDGAR

51 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1998-08-13 to 2008-07-31. Explore the available filing history and original sources.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

1.08 billion USD

2008-06-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 1082276000 USD Source

Operating margin

7.75%

2008-06-30 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: 83878000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 1082276000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

216 million USD

2008-06-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 523282000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: 307523000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
345 million USD Source
Exact value

344599000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
3.73 billion USD Source
Exact value

3726709000 USD

Shares outstanding
Not available

Trailing twelve months

The four most recent complete quarters added together. This gives a full-year view that includes the latest quarterly results.

Net income

245 million USD

2007-07-01 – 2008-06-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Net income: 25042000 USD · 2007-07-01 – 2007-09-30 Source
  • Net income: 251298000 USD · 2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31 Source
  • Net income: 177827000 USD · 2007-01-01 – 2007-09-30 Source
  • Net income: 131955000 USD · 2008-01-01 – 2008-03-31 Source
  • Net income: 14955000 USD · 2008-04-01 – 2008-06-30 Source

Operating cash flow

589 million USD

2007-07-01 – 2008-06-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating cash flow: 458170000 USD · 2007-01-01 – 2007-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 445025000 USD · 2007-01-01 – 2007-06-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 511200000 USD · 2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 458170000 USD · 2007-01-01 – 2007-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 307523000 USD · 2008-01-01 – 2008-03-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 523282000 USD · 2008-01-01 – 2008-06-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: 307523000 USD · 2008-01-01 – 2008-03-31 Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2008-07-31.

Financial data available through: 2007-12-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2007-12-31
  • Operating income: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2007-12-31
  • Net income: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2007-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2007-12-31
  • capital expenditure: No compatible figures in this window
  • Total assets: 2 of 11 periods available· newest 2007-12-31
  • Total liabilities: 2 of 11 periods available· newest 2007-12-31
  • Current assets: 2 of 11 periods available· newest 2007-12-31
  • Current liabilities: 2 of 11 periods available· newest 2007-12-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 2 of 11 periods available· newest 2007-12-31
  • Long-term debt including current maturities: 1 of 11 periods available· newest 2006-12-30
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    -1%

    Prior period

    USD 5.23 billion

    –

    Current period

    USD 5.18 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    5178108000 − 5230665000 = -52557000 USD

    5230665000 USD · 2005-12-31 – 2006-12-30

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    5178108000 USD · 2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    -3.3%

    Prior period

    USD 259.83 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 251.3 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    251298000 − 259832000 = -8534000 USD

    259832000 USD · 2005-12-31 – 2006-12-30

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    251298000 USD · 2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    +35.1%

    Prior period

    USD 378.49 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 511.2 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    511200000 − 378486000 = 132714000 USD

    378486000 USD · 2005-12-31 – 2006-12-30

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    511200000 USD · 2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Comparable inputs unavailable for: Capital expenditure.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2007 2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31

  • Revenue USD 5.18 billion 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived USD 4.56 billion 88% of revenue
  • Operating income USD 615.02 million 12% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived USD 363.72 million 7% of revenue
  • Net income USD 251.3 million 4.9% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 511.2 million 9.9% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Free cash flow Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 2004 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2005 87%
  • 2006 87%
  • 2007 88%
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
2004 2003-12-31 – 2004-12-304756692000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailableUnavailableUnavailable
Source
2005 2004-12-31 – 2005-12-305298543000 4605388000 Derived 693155000 436322000 Derived 256833000 Unavailable
Source
2006 2005-12-31 – 2006-12-305230665000 4527173000 Derived 703492000 443660000 Derived 259832000 Unavailable
Source
2007 2007-01-01 – 2007-12-315178108000 4563087000 Derived 615021000 363723000 Derived 251298000 Unavailable
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 5.2B 2007
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.5.7B4.3B2.9B1.4B0.02004200520062007
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2004Revenue4756692000
2005Revenue5298543000
2006Revenue5230665000
2007Revenue5178108000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

-1% 2007
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.12.4%8.7%5.1%1.4%-2.3%2004200520062007
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2004Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2005Year over year11.4%
2006Year over year-1.3%
2007Year over year-1%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 11.9% 2007
Net margin 4.9% 2007
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.14.5%10.9%7.3%3.6%0.0%2004-12-30200520062007
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2004-12-30Operating marginNot reported
2005Operating margin13.1%
2006Operating margin13.4%
2007Operating margin11.9%
2004-12-30Net marginNot reported
2005Net margin4.8%
2006Net margin5%
2007Net margin4.9%
2004Free cash flow marginNot reported
2005Free cash flow marginNot reported
2006Free cash flow marginNot reported
2007Free cash flow marginNot reported

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 511.2M 2007
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.552.1M414.1M276.0M138.0M0.02004200520062007
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2004Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
2005Operating cash flow504732000
2006Operating cash flow378486000
2007Operating cash flow511200000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2004Free cash flowUnavailableNo source recorded
2005Free cash flowUnavailable
2006Free cash flowUnavailable
2007Free cash flowUnavailable

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

72.8% 2007
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.81%61%41%20%0%2004-12-302005-12-3020062007
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2004-12-30Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
2005-12-30Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
2006Liabilities / assets75%
2007Liabilities / assets72.8%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

1.56× 2007
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.1.68×1.26×0.84×0.42×0.00×2004-12-302005-12-3020062007
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2004-12-30Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2005-12-30Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2006Current assets / current liabilities1.24×
2007Current assets / current liabilities1.56×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
1997 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31
USD 175.21 million
Exact value

Exact value: 175211000 USD

1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31: 175211000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 446.73 million
Exact value

Exact value: 446734000 USD

1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31: 446734000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

1998 1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31
USD 194.21 million
Exact value

Exact value: 194205000 USD

1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31: 194205000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 457.26 million
Exact value

Exact value: 457258000 USD

1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31: 457258000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

1999 1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31
USD 218.75 million
Exact value

Exact value: 218751000 USD

1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31: 218751000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 131.33 million
Exact value

Exact value: -131328000 USD

1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31: -131328000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2000 2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31
USD 235.03 million
Exact value

Exact value: 235034000 USD

2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31: 235034000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 227.9 million
Exact value

Exact value: 227898000 USD

2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31: 227898000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2002 2002-01-01 – 2002-12-31
USD 188.6 million
Exact value

Exact value: 188603000 USD

2002-01-01 – 2002-12-31: 188603000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 451.36 million
Exact value

Exact value: 451358000 USD

2002-01-01 – 2002-12-31: 451358000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2003 2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31
USD 210.45 million
Exact value

Exact value: 210446000 USD

2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31: 210446000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 475.77 million
Exact value

Exact value: 475767000 USD

2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31: 475767000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2004 2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31
USD 229.34 million
Exact value

Exact value: 229337000 USD

2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31: 229337000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 339.1 million
Exact value

Exact value: 339100000 USD

2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31: 339100000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2005 2004-12-31 – 2005-12-30
USD 256.83 million
Exact value

Exact value: 256833000 USD

2004-12-31 – 2005-12-30: 256833000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 504.73 million
Exact value

Exact value: 504732000 USD

2004-12-31 – 2005-12-30: 504732000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2006 2005-12-31 – 2006-12-30
USD 259.83 million
Exact value

Exact value: 259832000 USD

2005-12-31 – 2006-12-30: 259832000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 378.49 million
Exact value

Exact value: 378486000 USD

2005-12-31 – 2006-12-30: 378486000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2007 2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31
USD 251.3 million
Exact value

Exact value: 251298000 USD

2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31: 251298000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 511.2 million
Exact value

Exact value: 511200000 USD

2007-01-01 – 2007-12-31: 511200000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

51 filings · 0 latest values · 0 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0001046861, 1046861, edgar:1046861

Also known as NGE RESOURCES INC