NORTH ATLANTIC TRADING CO INC

EDGAR

42 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1997-11-14 to 2007-03-29. Explore the available filing history and original sources.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

29.8 million USD

2006-09-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Operating margin

14.81%

2006-09-30 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: 4411000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 29779000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

-2.91 million USD

2006-09-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: -5429000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: -2523000 USD Source

Free cash flow

-3.54 million USD

2006-09-30 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: -5429000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: -2523000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 1270000 USD Source
  • Capital Expenditure: 635000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
2.3 million USD Source
Exact value

2299000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
Not available

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2007-03-29.

Financial data available through: 2004-12-31.

Financial coverage is incomplete. Newer filings are recorded, but comparable financial figures for those periods are not available here yet.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 1998-12-31
  • Operating income: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 1998-12-31
  • Net income: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2004-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2004-12-31
  • Capital expenditure: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2004-12-31
  • Total assets: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2004-12-31
  • Total liabilities: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2004-12-31
  • Current assets: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2004-12-31
  • Current liabilities: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2004-12-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 7 of 11 periods available· newest 2004-12-31
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • shares outstanding: No compatible figures in this window

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Net income

    −USD 21.59 million

    Prior period

    −USD 6.24 million

    –

    Current period

    −USD 27.84 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    -27835000 − -6241000 = -21594000 USD

    -6241000 USD · 2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    -27835000 USD · 2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    +USD 8.39 million

    Prior period

    −USD 4.86 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 3.53 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    3534000 − -4858000 = 8392000 USD

    -4858000 USD · 2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    3534000 USD · 2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Capital expenditure

    +109.9%

    Prior period

    USD 1.56 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 3.28 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    3277000 − 1561000 = 1716000 USD

    1561000 USD · 2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    3277000 USD · 2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Comparable inputs unavailable for: Revenue.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

1998 1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31

  • Revenue USD 93.08 million 100% of revenue
  • Operating costs Derived USD 63.98 million 69% of revenue
  • Operating income USD 29.1 million 31% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived USD 28.09 million 30% of revenue
  • Net income USD 1.01 million 1.1% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 13.7 million 15% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure USD 467,000 0.5% of revenue
  • Free cash flow Derived USD 13.24 million 14% of revenue

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 1995 17%79%
  • 1996 17%82%
  • 1997 31%69%
  • 1998 30%69%
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
1995 1995-01-01 – 1995-12-3152630000 41427000 Derived 11203000 8698000 Derived 2505000 8474000 Derived
Source
1996 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-3136126000 29462000 Derived 6664000 6281000 Derived 383000 6522000 Derived
Source
1997 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-3184430000 57837000 Derived 26593000 26300000 Derived 293000 11819000 Derived
Source
1998 1998-01-01 – 1998-12-3193081000 63980000 Derived 29101000 28094000 Derived 1007000 13235000 Derived
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 93.1M 1998
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.100.5M75.4M50.3M25.1M0.01995199619971998
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1995Revenue52630000
1996Revenue36126000
1997Revenue84430000
1998Revenue93081000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

10.2% 1998
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.147%99%51%3%-45%1995199619971998
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1995Year over yearNo prior comparable period
1996Year over year-31.4%
1997Year over year133.7%
1998Year over year10.2%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 31.3% 1998
Net margin 1.1% 1998
Free cash flow margin 14.2% 1998
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.34.0%25.5%17.0%8.5%0.0%1995199619971998
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1995Operating margin21.3%
1996Operating margin18.4%
1997Operating margin31.5%
1998Operating margin31.3%
1995Net margin4.8%
1996Net margin1.1%
1997Net margin0.3%
1998Net margin1.1%
1995Free cash flow margin16.1%
1996Free cash flow margin18.1%
1997Free cash flow margin14%
1998Free cash flow margin14.2%

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 13.7M 1998
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.14.8M11.1M7.4M3.7M0.01995199619971998
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1995Operating cash flow8713000
1996Operating cash flow6678000
1997Operating cash flow12523000
1998Operating cash flow13702000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD 13.2M 1998
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.14.3M10.7M7.1M3.6M0.01995199619971998
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
1995Free cash flow8474000
1996Free cash flow6522000
1997Free cash flow11819000
1998Free cash flow13235000

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

90.8% 1998
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.99%74%50%25%0%1995-12-31199619971998
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1995-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
1996Liabilities / assets83.6%
1997Liabilities / assets91.8%
1998Liabilities / assets90.8%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

2.61× 1998
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.3.41×2.56×1.71×0.85×0.00×1995-12-31199619971998
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
1995-12-31Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
1996Current assets / current liabilities1.97×
1997Current assets / current liabilities3.16×
1998Current assets / current liabilities2.61×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
1995 1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31
USD 2.51 million
Exact value

Exact value: 2505000 USD

1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31: 2505000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 8.71 million
Exact value

Exact value: 8713000 USD

1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31: 8713000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 239,000
Exact value

Exact value: 239000 USD

1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31: 239000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 8.47 million
Calculation and evidence

8713000 − 239000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 8474000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1996 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31
USD 383,000
Exact value

Exact value: 383000 USD

1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31: 383000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 6.68 million
Exact value

Exact value: 6678000 USD

1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31: 6678000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 156,000
Exact value

Exact value: 156000 USD

1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31: 156000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 6.52 million
Calculation and evidence

6678000 − 156000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 6522000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1997 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31
USD 293,000
Exact value

Exact value: 293000 USD

1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31: 293000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 12.52 million
Exact value

Exact value: 12523000 USD

1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31: 12523000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 704,000
Exact value

Exact value: 704000 USD

1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31: 704000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 11.82 million
Calculation and evidence

12523000 − 704000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 11819000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

1998 1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31
USD 1.01 million
Exact value

Exact value: 1007000 USD

1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31: 1007000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 13.7 million
Exact value

Exact value: 13702000 USD

1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31: 13702000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 467,000
Exact value

Exact value: 467000 USD

1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31: 467000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 13.24 million
Calculation and evidence

13702000 − 467000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 13235000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2002 2002-01-01 – 2002-12-31
USD 5.49 million
Exact value

Exact value: 5485000 USD

2002-01-01 – 2002-12-31: 5485000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 8.39 million
Exact value

Exact value: 8385000 USD

2002-01-01 – 2002-12-31: 8385000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 625,000
Exact value

Exact value: 625000 USD

2002-01-01 – 2002-12-31: 625000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 7.76 million
Calculation and evidence

8385000 − 625000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 7760000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2003 2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31
−USD 6.24 million
Exact value

Exact value: -6241000 USD

2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31: -6241000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 4.86 million
Exact value

Exact value: -4858000 USD

2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31: -4858000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.56 million
Exact value

Exact value: 1561000 USD

2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31: 1561000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 6.42 million
Calculation and evidence

-4858000 − 1561000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -6419000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2004 2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31
−USD 27.84 million
Exact value

Exact value: -27835000 USD

2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31: -27835000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 3.53 million
Exact value

Exact value: 3534000 USD

2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31: 3534000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 3.28 million
Exact value

Exact value: 3277000 USD

2004-01-01 – 2004-12-31: 3277000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 257,000
Calculation and evidence

3534000 − 3277000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 257000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

42 filings · 0 latest values · 0 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0001042787, 1042787, edgar:1042787