Revenue
5.85 billion USD
2004-09-30 · USD
Exact inputs and evidence
- Revenue: 5848072000 USD Source
40 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1996-08-14 to 2004-11-09. Explore the available filing history and original sources.
5.85 billion USD
2004-09-30 · USD
9.45%
2004-09-30 · %
440 million USD
2004-09-30 · USD
1118086000 USD
The four most recent complete quarters added together. This gives a full-year view that includes the latest quarterly results.
22.8 billion USD
2003-10-01 – 2004-09-30
1.18 billion USD
2003-10-01 – 2004-09-30
1.65 billion USD
2003-10-01 – 2004-09-30
Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.
Latest filing recorded: 2004-11-09.
Financial data available through: 2003-12-31.
Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.
Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.
Prior period
USD 17.34 billion
–
Current period
USD 20.36 billion
–
20359691000 − 17338540000 = 3021151000 USD
17338540000 USD · 2002-01-01 – 2002-12-31
Inspect prior input Prior source20359691000 USD · 2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31
Inspect current input Current sourceThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.
Prior period
USD 703.08 million
–
Current period
USD 935.23 million
–
935229000 − 703079000 = 232150000 USD
703079000 USD · 2002-01-01 – 2002-12-31
Inspect prior input Prior source935229000 USD · 2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31
Inspect current input Current sourceThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.
Prior period
USD 1.4 billion
–
Current period
USD 1.46 billion
–
1464089000 − 1401018000 = 63071000 USD
1401018000 USD · 2002-01-01 – 2002-12-31
Inspect prior input Prior source1464089000 USD · 2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31
Inspect current input Current sourceThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.
Comparable inputs unavailable for: Capital expenditure.
How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.
| Period | Revenue | Operating costs | Operating income | Tax, interest and other | Net income | Free cash flow | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1994 1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31 | 2791672000 | 2431643000 Derived | 360029000 | 146859000 Derived | 213170000 | Unavailable | Source
|
| 1995 1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31 | 3107079000 | 2791615000 Derived | 315464000 | 135475000 Derived | 179989000 | Unavailable | Source
|
| 1996 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31 | 3970832000 | 3571773000 Derived | 399059000 | 197057000 Derived | 202002000 | Unavailable | Source
|
| 1997 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31 | 5642238000 | 5187925000 Derived | 454313000 | 226904000 Derived | 227409000 | Unavailable | Source
|
| 1998 1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31 | 6478350000 | 6031522000 Derived | 446828000 | 215548000 Derived | 231280000 | Unavailable | Source
|
| 1999 1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31 | 7485427000 | 6937136000 Derived | 548291000 | 269747000 Derived | 278544000 | Unavailable | Source
|
| 2000 2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31 | 9228958000 | 8594770000 Derived | 634188000 | 291901000 Derived | 342287000 | Unavailable | Source
|
| 2001 2001-01-01 – 2001-12-31 | 12428647000 | 11605422000 Derived | 823225000 | 408479000 Derived | 414746000 | Unavailable | Source
|
| 2002 2002-01-01 – 2002-12-31 | 17338540000 | 16059636000 Derived | 1278904000 | 575825000 Derived | 703079000 | Unavailable | Source
|
| 2003 2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31 | 20359691000 | 18714130000 Derived | 1645561000 | 710332000 Derived | 935229000 | Unavailable | Source
|
Amounts are exact, in USD.
Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.
Revenue reported for each complete financial period.
| Period | Series | Value(USD) | Source evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1994 | Revenue | 2791672000 |
|
| 1995 | Revenue | 3107079000 |
|
| 1996 | Revenue | 3970832000 |
|
| 1997 | Revenue | 5642238000 |
|
| 1998 | Revenue | 6478350000 |
|
| 1999 | Revenue | 7485427000 |
|
| 2000 | Revenue | 9228958000 |
|
| 2001 | Revenue | 12428647000 |
|
| 2002 | Revenue | 17338540000 |
|
| 2003 | Revenue | 20359691000 |
|
Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.
| Period | Series | Value | Source evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1994 | Year over year | No prior comparable period |
|
| 1995 | Year over year | 11.3% |
|
| 1996 | Year over year | 27.8% |
|
| 1997 | Year over year | 42.1% |
|
| 1998 | Year over year | 14.8% |
|
| 1999 | Year over year | 15.5% |
|
| 2000 | Year over year | 23.3% |
|
| 2001 | Year over year | 34.7% |
|
| 2002 | Year over year | 39.5% |
|
| 2003 | Year over year | 17.4% |
|
How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.
Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.
| Period | Series | Value | Source evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1994 | Operating margin | 12.9% |
|
| 1995 | Operating margin | 10.2% |
|
| 1996 | Operating margin | 10% |
|
| 1997 | Operating margin | 8.1% |
|
| 1998 | Operating margin | 6.9% |
|
| 1999 | Operating margin | 7.3% |
|
| 2000 | Operating margin | 6.9% |
|
| 2001 | Operating margin | 6.6% |
|
| 2002 | Operating margin | 7.4% |
|
| 2003 | Operating margin | 8.1% |
|
| 1994 | Net margin | 7.6% |
|
| 1995 | Net margin | 5.8% |
|
| 1996 | Net margin | 5.1% |
|
| 1997 | Net margin | 4% |
|
| 1998 | Net margin | 3.6% |
|
| 1999 | Net margin | 3.7% |
|
| 2000 | Net margin | 3.7% |
|
| 2001 | Net margin | 3.3% |
|
| 2002 | Net margin | 4.1% |
|
| 2003 | Net margin | 4.6% |
|
| 1994 | Free cash flow margin | Not reported |
|
| 1995 | Free cash flow margin | Not reported |
|
| 1996 | Free cash flow margin | Not reported |
|
| 1997 | Free cash flow margin | Not reported |
|
| 1998 | Free cash flow margin | Not reported |
|
| 1999 | Free cash flow margin | Not reported |
|
| 2000 | Free cash flow margin | Not reported |
|
| 2001 | Free cash flow margin | Not reported |
|
| 2002 | Free cash flow margin | Not reported |
|
| 2003 | Free cash flow margin | Not reported |
|
Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.
| Period | Series | Value(USD) | Source evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1994 | Operating cash flow | 258923000 |
|
| 1995 | Operating cash flow | 150384000 |
|
| 1996 | Operating cash flow | 404589000 |
|
| 1997 | Operating cash flow | 553080000 |
|
| 1998 | Operating cash flow | 389428000 |
|
| 1999 | Operating cash flow | 829358000 |
|
| 2000 | Operating cash flow | 647949000 |
|
| 2001 | Operating cash flow | 806164000 |
|
| 2002 | Operating cash flow | 1401018000 |
|
| 2003 | Operating cash flow | 1464089000 |
|
Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.
| Period | Series | Value(USD) | Source evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1994 | Free cash flow | Unavailable |
|
| 1995 | Free cash flow | Unavailable |
|
| 1996 | Free cash flow | Unavailable |
|
| 1997 | Free cash flow | Unavailable |
|
| 1998 | Free cash flow | Unavailable |
|
| 1999 | Free cash flow | Unavailable |
|
| 2000 | Free cash flow | Unavailable |
|
| 2001 | Free cash flow | Unavailable |
|
| 2002 | Free cash flow | Unavailable |
|
| 2003 | Free cash flow | Unavailable |
|
Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.
Total liabilities as a share of total assets.
| Period | Series | Value | Source evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1994-12-31 | Liabilities / assets | Not reported | No source recorded |
| 1995 | Liabilities / assets | 37.7% |
|
| 1996 | Liabilities / assets | 74.4% |
|
| 1997 | Liabilities / assets | 71.1% |
|
| 1998 | Liabilities / assets | 68.9% |
|
| 1999 | Liabilities / assets | 71.4% |
|
| 2000 | Liabilities / assets | 70.1% |
|
| 2001 | Liabilities / assets | 71.5% |
|
| 2002 | Liabilities / assets | 65.3% |
|
| 2003 | Liabilities / assets | 63.3% |
|
Current assets divided by current liabilities.
| Period | Series | Value | Source evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1994-12-31 | Current assets / current liabilities | Not reported | No source recorded |
| 1995 | Current assets / current liabilities | 2.93× |
|
| 1996 | Current assets / current liabilities | 1.63× |
|
| 1997 | Current assets / current liabilities | 1.41× |
|
| 1998 | Current assets / current liabilities | 1.57× |
|
| 1999 | Current assets / current liabilities | 1.51× |
|
| 2000 | Current assets / current liabilities | 1.46× |
|
| 2001 | Current assets / current liabilities | 1.44× |
|
| 2002 | Current assets / current liabilities | 1.46× |
|
| 2003 | Current assets / current liabilities | 1.5× |
|
Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.
| Period | Net income | Operating cash flow | Capital expenditure | Free cash flow |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1994 1994-01-01 – 1994-12-31 | USD 213.17 million Exact valueExact value: 213170000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 258.92 million Exact valueExact value: 258923000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | Unavailable Not reported for this period. | Unavailable Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period. |
| 1995 1995-01-01 – 1995-12-31 | USD 179.99 million Exact valueExact value: 179989000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 150.38 million Exact valueExact value: 150384000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | Unavailable Not reported for this period. | Unavailable Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period. |
| 1996 1996-01-01 – 1996-12-31 | USD 202 million Exact valueExact value: 202002000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 404.59 million Exact valueExact value: 404589000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | Unavailable Not reported for this period. | Unavailable Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period. |
| 1997 1997-01-01 – 1997-12-31 | USD 227.41 million Exact valueExact value: 227409000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 553.08 million Exact valueExact value: 553080000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | Unavailable Not reported for this period. | Unavailable Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period. |
| 1998 1998-01-01 – 1998-12-31 | USD 231.28 million Exact valueExact value: 231280000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 389.43 million Exact valueExact value: 389428000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | Unavailable Not reported for this period. | Unavailable Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period. |
| 1999 1999-01-01 – 1999-12-31 | USD 278.54 million Exact valueExact value: 278544000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 829.36 million Exact valueExact value: 829358000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | Unavailable Not reported for this period. | Unavailable Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period. |
| 2000 2000-01-01 – 2000-12-31 | USD 342.29 million Exact valueExact value: 342287000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 647.95 million Exact valueExact value: 647949000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | Unavailable Not reported for this period. | Unavailable Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period. |
| 2001 2001-01-01 – 2001-12-31 | USD 414.75 million Exact valueExact value: 414746000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 806.16 million Exact valueExact value: 806164000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | Unavailable Not reported for this period. | Unavailable Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period. |
| 2002 2002-01-01 – 2002-12-31 | USD 703.08 million Exact valueExact value: 703079000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 1.4 billion Exact valueExact value: 1401018000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | Unavailable Not reported for this period. | Unavailable Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period. |
| 2003 2003-01-01 – 2003-12-31 | USD 935.23 million Exact valueExact value: 935229000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | USD 1.46 billion Exact valueExact value: 1464089000 USD Share or citeThe citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later. | Unavailable Not reported for this period. | Unavailable Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period. |
Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.
Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.
40 filings · 0 latest values · 0 originally reported values
Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.
Identifiers: 0001013220, 1013220, edgar:1013220
Also known as BLUE CROSS OF CALIFORNIA /CA/, WELLPOINT HEALTH NETWORKS INC /CA/