CARBO CERAMICS INC

EDGAR

101 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1996-06-03 to 2020-05-15. Reported financial figures are available; chart coverage varies by period.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

27.6 million USD

2019 Q4 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence

Operating margin

-860.79%

2019 Q4 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: -299030000 USD Source
  • Operating Income: -61064000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 27645000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

-4.09 million USD

2019 Q4 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: -11483000 USD Source
  • Operating Cash Flow: -7389000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
34.3 million USD Source
Exact value

34292000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
62.2 million USD Source
Exact value

62236000 USD

Shares outstanding
29.4 million shares Source
Exact value

29359193 shares

Reported share-count change

5.95% · 1.65 million shares

Year-over-year change in reported shares. Splits, issuance and buybacks can affect this figure; it does not isolate employee compensation or economic dilution.

Exact inputs and evidence
  • 27710861 shares · 2018-12-31· Source
  • 29359193 shares · 2019-12-31· Source

Trailing twelve months

The four most recent complete quarters added together. This gives a full-year view that includes the latest quarterly results.

Revenue

162 million USD

2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 47458000 USD · 2019-01-01 – 2019-03-31 Source
  • Revenue: 43099000 USD · 2019-04-01 – 2019-06-30 Source
  • Revenue: 43505000 USD · 2019-07-01 – 2019-09-30 Source
  • Revenue: 27645000 USD · 2019-10-01 – 2019-12-31 Source

Net income

-304 million USD

2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Net income: -19994000 USD · 2019-01-01 – 2019-03-31 Source
  • Net income: -16205000 USD · 2019-04-01 – 2019-06-30 Source
  • Net income: -29428000 USD · 2019-07-01 – 2019-09-30 Source
  • Net income: -238574000 USD · 2019-10-01 – 2019-12-31 Source

Operating cash flow

-11.5 million USD

2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating cash flow: -3584000 USD · 2019-01-01 – 2019-03-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -8530000 USD · 2019-01-01 – 2019-06-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -3584000 USD · 2019-01-01 – 2019-03-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -7389000 USD · 2019-01-01 – 2019-09-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -8530000 USD · 2019-01-01 – 2019-06-30 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -11483000 USD · 2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31 Source
  • Operating cash flow: -7389000 USD · 2019-01-01 – 2019-09-30 Source

Capital expenditure

91 million USD

2010-10-01 – 2011-09-30

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Capital expenditure: 96566000 USD · 2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 68706000 USD · 2010-01-01 – 2010-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 21568000 USD · 2011-01-01 – 2011-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 37468000 USD · 2011-01-01 – 2011-06-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 21568000 USD · 2011-01-01 – 2011-03-31 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 63148000 USD · 2011-01-01 – 2011-09-30 Source
  • Capital expenditure: 37468000 USD · 2011-01-01 – 2011-06-30 Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2020-05-15.

Financial data available through: 2019-12-31.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2019-12-31
  • Operating income: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2019-12-31
  • Net income: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2019-12-31
  • Operating cash flow: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2019-12-31
  • Capital expenditure: 2 of 11 periods available· newest 2010-12-31
  • Total assets: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2019-12-31
  • liabilities: No compatible figures in this window
  • Current assets: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2019-12-31
  • Current liabilities: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2019-12-31
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2019-12-31
  • Long-term debt including current maturities: 4 of 11 periods available· newest 2018-12-31
  • Shares outstanding: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2019-12-31

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    -23.3%

    Prior period

    USD 210.75 million

    –

    Current period

    USD 161.71 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    161707000 − 210745000 = -49038000 USD

    210745000 USD · 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    161707000 USD · 2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Net income

    −USD 228.77 million

    Prior period

    −USD 75.43 million

    –

    Current period

    −USD 304.2 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    -304201000 − -75433000 = -228768000 USD

    -75433000 USD · 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    -304201000 USD · 2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    +USD 10.12 million

    Prior period

    −USD 21.6 million

    –

    Current period

    −USD 11.48 million

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    -11483000 − -21598000 = 10115000 USD

    -21598000 USD · 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    -11483000 USD · 2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Comparable inputs unavailable for: Capital expenditure.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2019 2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31

  • Revenue USD 161.71 million 100% of revenue
  • Cost of revenue USD 195.14 million 121% of revenue
  • Operating expenses USD 42.53 million 26% of revenue
  • Other operating costs Derived USD 223.06 million 138% of revenue
  • Operating income −USD 299.03 million −185% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived USD 5.17 million 3.2% of revenue
  • Net income −USD 304.2 million −188% of revenue

Cash

  • Operating cash flow −USD 11.48 million −7.1% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Free cash flow Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 2010 17%75%
  • 2011 21%11%68%
  • 2012 16%75%
  • 2013 13%81%
  • 2014 86%
  • 2015 Operating loss: operating costs were 158% of revenue.
  • 2016 Operating loss: operating costs were 222% of revenue.
  • 2017 Operating loss: operating costs were 232% of revenue.
  • 2018 Operating loss: operating costs were 132% of revenue.
  • 2019 Operating loss: operating costs were 285% of revenue.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
2010 2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31473082000 353472000 Derived 119610000 40894000 Derived 78716000 -4781000 Derived
Source
2011 2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31625705000 428103000 Derived 197602000 67466000 Derived 130136000 Unavailable
Source
2012 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31645536000 486650000 Derived 158886000 52953000 Derived 105933000 Unavailable
Source
2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31667398000 542807000 Derived 124591000 39705000 Derived 84886000 Unavailable
Source
2014 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31648325000 555470000 Derived 92855000 37267000 Derived 55588000 Unavailable
Source
2015 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31279574000 442806000 Derived -163232000 -53688000 Derived -109544000 Unavailable
Source
2016 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31103051000 228953000 Derived -125902000 -45775000 Derived -80127000 Unavailable
Source
2017 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31188756000 437139000 Derived -248383000 4733000 Derived -253116000 Unavailable
Source
2018 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31210745000 277320000 Derived -66575000 8858000 Derived -75433000 Unavailable
Source
2019 2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31161707000 460737000 Derived -299030000 5171000 Derived -304201000 Unavailable
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 161.7M 2019
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.720.8M540.6M360.4M180.2M0.0201020152019
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2010Revenue473082000
2011Revenue625705000
2012Revenue645536000
2013Revenue667398000
2014Revenue648325000
2015Revenue279574000
2016Revenue103051000
2017Revenue188756000
2018Revenue210745000
2019Revenue161707000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

-23.3% 2019
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.95%52%10%-32%-75%201020152019
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2010Year over year38.4%
2011Year over year32.3%
2012Year over year3.2%
2013Year over year3.4%
2014Year over year-2.9%
2015Year over year-56.9%
2016Year over year-63.1%
2017Year over year83.2%
2018Year over year11.6%
2019Year over year-23.3%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin -184.9% 2019
Net margin -188.1% 2019
Free cash flow margin -1% 2010
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.49%-15%-78%-142%-206%201020152019
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2010Operating margin25.3%
2011Operating margin31.6%
2012Operating margin24.6%
2013Operating margin18.7%
2014Operating margin14.3%
2015Operating margin-58.4%
2016Operating margin-122.2%
2017Operating margin-131.6%
2018Operating margin-31.6%
2019Operating margin-184.9%
2010Net margin16.6%
2011Net margin20.8%
2012Net margin16.4%
2013Net margin12.7%
2014Net margin8.6%
2015Net margin-39.2%
2016Net margin-77.8%
2017Net margin-134.1%
2018Net margin-35.8%
2019Net margin-188.1%
2010Free cash flow margin-1%
2011Free cash flow marginNot reported
2012Free cash flow marginNot reported
2013Free cash flow marginNot reported
2014Free cash flow marginNot reported
2015Free cash flow marginNot reported
2016Free cash flow marginNot reported
2017Free cash flow marginNot reported
2018Free cash flow marginNot reported
2019Free cash flow marginNot reported

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD -11.5M 2019
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.172.0M115.4M58.8M2.2M-54.4M201020152019
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2010Operating cash flow91785000
2011Operating cash flow111413000
2012Operating cash flow156381000
2013Operating cash flow137571000
2014Operating cash flow105782000
2015Operating cash flow70577000
2016Operating cash flow-17935000
2017Operating cash flow-38818000
2018Operating cash flow-21598000
2019Operating cash flow-11483000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

USD -4.8M 2010
Free cash flow historyOperating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.382.5K-1.0M-2.4M-3.8M-5.2M201020152019
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2010Free cash flow-4781000
2011Free cash flowUnavailable
2012Free cash flowUnavailable
2013Free cash flowUnavailable
2014Free cash flowUnavailable
2015Free cash flowUnavailable
2016Free cash flowUnavailable
2017Free cash flowUnavailable
2018Free cash flowUnavailable
2019Free cash flowUnavailable

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2010-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2011-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2012-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2013-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2014-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2015-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2016-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2017-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2018-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported
2019-12-31Liabilities / assetsNot reported

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

0.67× 2019
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.7.43×5.58×3.72×1.86×0.00×201020152019
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2010Current assets / current liabilities4.64×
2011Current assets / current liabilities3.83×
2012Current assets / current liabilities6.88×
2013Current assets / current liabilities6.55×
2014Current assets / current liabilities4.36×
2015Current assets / current liabilities4.06×
2016Current assets / current liabilities6.24×
2017Current assets / current liabilities4.61×
2018Current assets / current liabilities2.25×
2019Current assets / current liabilities0.67×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
2010 2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31
USD 78.72 million
Exact value

Exact value: 78716000 USD

2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31: 78716000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 91.79 million
Exact value

Exact value: 91785000 USD

2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31: 91785000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 96.57 million
Exact value

Exact value: 96566000 USD

2010-01-01 – 2010-12-31: 96566000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 4.78 million
Calculation and evidence

91785000 − 96566000 USD

Exact free cash flow: -4781000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2011 2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31
USD 130.14 million
Exact value

Exact value: 130136000 USD

2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31: 130136000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 111.41 million
Exact value

Exact value: 111413000 USD

2011-01-01 – 2011-12-31: 111413000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2012 2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31
USD 105.93 million
Exact value

Exact value: 105933000 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: 105933000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 156.38 million
Exact value

Exact value: 156381000 USD

2012-01-01 – 2012-12-31: 156381000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2013 2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31
USD 84.89 million
Exact value

Exact value: 84886000 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: 84886000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 137.57 million
Exact value

Exact value: 137571000 USD

2013-01-01 – 2013-12-31: 137571000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2014 2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31
USD 55.59 million
Exact value

Exact value: 55588000 USD

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: 55588000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 105.78 million
Exact value

Exact value: 105782000 USD

2014-01-01 – 2014-12-31: 105782000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2015 2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31
−USD 109.54 million
Exact value

Exact value: -109544000 USD

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: -109544000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 70.58 million
Exact value

Exact value: 70577000 USD

2015-01-01 – 2015-12-31: 70577000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2016 2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31
−USD 80.13 million
Exact value

Exact value: -80127000 USD

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: -80127000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 17.94 million
Exact value

Exact value: -17935000 USD

2016-01-01 – 2016-12-31: -17935000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2017 2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31
−USD 253.12 million
Exact value

Exact value: -253116000 USD

2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31: -253116000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 38.82 million
Exact value

Exact value: -38818000 USD

2017-01-01 – 2017-12-31: -38818000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2018 2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31
−USD 75.43 million
Exact value

Exact value: -75433000 USD

2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31: -75433000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 21.6 million
Exact value

Exact value: -21598000 USD

2018-01-01 – 2018-12-31: -21598000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2019 2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31
−USD 304.2 million
Exact value

Exact value: -304201000 USD

2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31: -304201000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

−USD 11.48 million
Exact value

Exact value: -11483000 USD

2019-01-01 – 2019-12-31: -11483000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

101 filings · 3,651 latest values · 3,651 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0001009672, 1009672, CRR, edgar:1009672

Also known as CARBO CERAMICS INC, CARBO CERAMICS INC.