SANDISK CORP

EDGAR

96 filing records in this dataset, filed from 1996-08-14 to 2016-05-02. Reported financial figures are available; chart coverage varies by period.

Watchlist

Latest quarter

Revenue

1.37 billion USD

2016-04-03 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Revenue: 1365736000 USD Source

Operating margin

10.04%

2016-04-03 · %

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Income: 137111000 USD Source
  • Revenue: 1365736000 USD Source

Operating cash flow

355 million USD

2016-04-03 · USD

Exact inputs and evidence
  • Operating Cash Flow: 355143000 USD Source
Cash and cash equivalents
3.27 billion USD Source
Exact value

3271927000 USD

Long-term debt including current maturities
Not available
Shares outstanding
243 million shares Source
Exact value

242552005 shares

Reported share-count change

2.56% · 6.05 million shares

Year-over-year change in reported shares. Splits, issuance and buybacks can affect this figure; it does not isolate employee compensation or economic dilution.

Exact inputs and evidence
  • 236501736 shares · 2011-01-02· Source
  • 242552005 shares · 2012-01-01· Source

Company performance

Up to ten complete financial years · consolidated figures

Includes later revisions to earlier periods. Annual charts exclude incomplete years.

Latest filing recorded: 2016-05-02.

Financial data available through: 2016-01-03.

Coverage by financial measure
  • Revenue: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2016-01-03
  • Operating income: 11 of 11 periods available· newest 2016-01-03
  • Net income: 6 of 11 periods available· newest 2011-01-02
  • Operating cash flow: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2016-01-03
  • Capital expenditure: 5 of 11 periods available· newest 2011-01-02
  • Total assets: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2016-01-03
  • Total liabilities: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2016-01-03
  • Current assets: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2016-01-03
  • Current liabilities: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2016-01-03
  • Cash and cash equivalents: 10 of 11 periods available· newest 2016-01-03
  • long term debt: No compatible figures in this window
  • Shares outstanding: 3 of 11 periods available· newest 2012-01-01

Coverage describes values retained in this snapshot. Missing values are not zero; loading limits are reported separately.

What changed year over year

Latest complete year compared with the corresponding period one year earlier. These are measured changes; they do not establish their business causes.

  • Revenue

    -16%

    Prior period

    USD 6.63 billion

    –

    Current period

    USD 5.56 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    5564872000 − 6627701000 = -1062829000 USD

    6627701000 USD · 2013-12-30 – 2014-12-28

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    5564872000 USD · 2014-12-29 – 2016-01-03

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

  • Operating cash flow

    -38.4%

    Prior period

    USD 1.7 billion

    –

    Current period

    USD 1.05 billion

    –

    Exact inputs and evidence

    1046680000 − 1698448000 = -651768000 USD

    1698448000 USD · 2013-12-30 – 2014-12-28

    Inspect prior input Prior source

    1046680000 USD · 2014-12-29 – 2016-01-03

    Inspect current input Current source
    Share or cite

    The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Comparable inputs unavailable for: Net income, Capital expenditure.

Where revenue goes

How a period’s revenue divides into costs and what remains as profit. Items marked Derived are calculated by subtraction from reported figures.

2016 2014-12-29 – 2016-01-03

  • Revenue USD 5.56 billion 100% of revenue
  • Cost of revenue USD 3.31 billion 59% of revenue
  • Operating expenses USD 1.64 billion 29% of revenue
  • Operating income USD 616.63 million 11% of revenue
  • Tax, interest and other Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Net income Unavailable An input is unavailable.

Cash

  • Operating cash flow USD 1.05 billion 19% of revenue
  • Capital expenditure Unavailable An input is unavailable.
  • Free cash flow Derived Unavailable An input is unavailable.

Share of revenue by period

  • Net income
  • Tax, interest and other
  • Operating costs
  • 2009 Operating loss: operating costs were 159% of revenue.
  • 2010 12%85%
  • 2010 12%85%
  • 2011 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2011 27%70%
  • 2012 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2013 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2014 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2015 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
  • 2016 Not shown: operating income or net income is not reported.
Values and sources
Revenue breakdown by annual reporting period
PeriodRevenueOperating costsOperating incomeTax, interest and otherNet incomeFree cash flowSource
2009 2007-12-31 – 2008-12-283351352000 5324832000 Derived -1973480000 13144000 Derived -1986624000 Unavailable
Source
2010 2008-12-29 – 2010-01-033566806000 3047416000 Derived 519390000 104080000 Derived 415310000 Unavailable
Source
2010 2009-01-04 – 2010-01-033566806000 3047416000 Derived 519390000 104080000 Derived 415310000 428121000 Derived
Source
2011 2010-01-03 – 2011-01-024826807000 3365233000 Derived 1461574000 UnavailableUnavailable1343750000 Derived
Source
2011 2010-01-04 – 2011-01-024826807000 3365233000 Derived 1461574000 161432000 Derived 1300142000 Unavailable
Source
2012 2011-01-03 – 2012-01-015662145000 4132045000 Derived 1530100000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable
Source
2013 2012-01-02 – 2012-12-305052509000 4356414000 Derived 696095000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable
Source
2014 2012-12-31 – 2013-12-296170003000 4607793000 Derived 1562210000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable
Source
2015 2013-12-30 – 2014-12-286627701000 5069767000 Derived 1557934000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable
Source
2016 2014-12-29 – 2016-01-035564872000 4948247000 Derived 616625000 UnavailableUnavailableUnavailable
Source

Amounts are exact, in USD.

Growth

Sales over time and how quickly they are changing.

Revenue

Revenue reported for each complete financial period.

USD 5.6B 2016
Revenue historyRevenue reported for each complete financial period. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.7.2B5.4B3.6B1.8B0.0200620132016
Values and sources
Revenue values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2006Revenue3257525000
2006Revenue3257525000
2007Revenue3896366000
2012Revenue5662145000
2013Revenue5052509000
2014Revenue6170003000
2015Revenue6627701000
2016Revenue5564872000

Revenue growth

Change in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier.

-16% 2016
Revenue growth historyChange in revenue from the same financial period one year earlier. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.25%14%3%-8%-19%200620132016
Values and sources
Revenue growth values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2006Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2006Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2007Year over year19.6%
2012Year over yearNo prior comparable period
2013Year over year-10.8%
2014Year over year22.1%
2015Year over year7.4%
2016Year over year-16%

Profit and cash

How much revenue becomes profit, and how much cash operations generate.

Profit margins

Operating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue.

Operating margin 11.1% 2016
Net margin 4.9% 2007
Profit margins historyOperating income, net income and free cash flow as a share of revenue. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.29.2%21.9%14.6%7.3%0.0%200620132016
  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
  • Free cash flow margin
Values and sources
Profit margins values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2006Operating margin10%
2006Operating margin10%
2007Operating margin7.1%
2012Operating margin27%
2013Operating margin13.8%
2014Operating margin25.3%
2015Operating margin23.5%
2016Operating margin11.1%
2006Net margin6.1%
2006Net margin6.1%
2007Net margin4.9%
2012-01-01Net marginNot reported
2012-12-30Net marginNot reported
2013-12-29Net marginNot reported
2014-12-28Net marginNot reported
2016-01-03Net marginNot reported
2006Free cash flow marginNot reported
2006Free cash flow marginNot reported
2007Free cash flow marginNot reported
2012Free cash flow marginNot reported
2013Free cash flow marginNot reported
2014Free cash flow marginNot reported
2015Free cash flow marginNot reported
2016Free cash flow marginNot reported

Operating cash flow

Cash generated by the company’s normal business operations.

USD 1B 2016
Operating cash flow historyCash generated by the company’s normal business operations. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.2.0B1.5B1.0B503.2M0.0200620132016
Values and sources
Operating cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2006Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
2006Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
2007Operating cash flowNot reportedNo source recorded
2012Operating cash flow1053772000
2013Operating cash flow529854000
2014Operating cash flow1863672000
2015Operating cash flow1698448000
2016Operating cash flow1046680000

Free cash flow

Operating cash flow minus capital expenditure for the same period and unit.

Not enough comparable data to show this history.
Values and sources
Free cash flow values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValue(USD)Source evidence
2006Free cash flowUnavailableNo source recorded
2006Free cash flowUnavailableNo source recorded
2007Free cash flowUnavailableNo source recorded
2012Free cash flowUnavailable
2013Free cash flowUnavailable
2014Free cash flowUnavailable
2015Free cash flowUnavailable
2016Free cash flowUnavailable

Balance sheet

Liabilities and short-term ability to meet obligations at each period end.

Liabilities to assets

Total liabilities as a share of total assets.

37% 2016
Liabilities to assets historyTotal liabilities as a share of total assets. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.39.9%29.9%20.0%10.0%0.0%2006-12-3020132016
Values and sources
Liabilities to assets values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2006-12-30Liabilities / assetsNot reportedNo source recorded
2006Liabilities / assets31.5%
2007Liabilities / assets31.4%
2012Liabilities / assets30.6%
2013Liabilities / assets29.8%
2014Liabilities / assets33.6%
2015Liabilities / assets35.2%
2016Liabilities / assets37%

Current assets to current liabilities

Current assets divided by current liabilities.

2.82× 2016
Current assets to current liabilities historyCurrent assets divided by current liabilities. Values are shown by financial reporting period. Open Values and sources below for the exact observations and evidence.5.11×3.83×2.56×1.28×0.00×2006-12-3020132016
Values and sources
Current assets to current liabilities values and source evidence
PeriodSeriesValueSource evidence
2006-12-30Current assets / current liabilitiesNot reportedNo source recorded
2006Current assets / current liabilities4.73×
2007Current assets / current liabilities3.61×
2012Current assets / current liabilities3.98×
2013Current assets / current liabilities2.45×
2014Current assets / current liabilities3.78×
2015Current assets / current liabilities1.92×
2016Current assets / current liabilities2.82×

Cash generation

Compare reported profit with operating cash and capital spending. Free cash flow is calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure when both exact, consolidated amounts match the same period and unit.

Cash generation by annual reporting period
PeriodNet incomeOperating cash flowCapital expenditureFree cash flow
2009 2007-12-31 – 2008-12-28
−USD 1.99 billion
Exact value

Exact value: -1986624000 USD

2007-12-31 – 2008-12-28: -1986624000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 87.72 million
Exact value

Exact value: 87724000 USD

2007-12-31 – 2008-12-28: 87724000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2010 2008-12-29 – 2010-01-03
USD 415.31 million
Exact value

Exact value: 415310000 USD

2008-12-29 – 2010-01-03: 415310000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 487.85 million
Exact value

Exact value: 487854000 USD

2008-12-29 – 2010-01-03: 487854000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2010 2009-01-04 – 2010-01-03
USD 415.31 million
Exact value

Exact value: 415310000 USD

2009-01-04 – 2010-01-03: 415310000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 487.85 million
Exact value

Exact value: 487854000 USD

2009-01-04 – 2010-01-03: 487854000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 59.73 million
Exact value

Exact value: 59733000 USD

2009-01-04 – 2010-01-03: 59733000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 428.12 million
Calculation and evidence

487854000 − 59733000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 428121000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2011 2010-01-03 – 2011-01-02
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 1.45 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1451892000 USD

2010-01-03 – 2011-01-02: 1451892000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 108.14 million
Exact value

Exact value: 108142000 USD

2010-01-03 – 2011-01-02: 108142000 USD Inspect Capital Expenditure Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.34 billion
Calculation and evidence

1451892000 − 108142000 USD

Exact free cash flow: 1343750000 USD

Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

2011 2010-01-04 – 2011-01-02
USD 1.3 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1300142000 USD

2010-01-04 – 2011-01-02: 1300142000 USD Inspect Net Income Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

USD 1.45 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1451892000 USD

2010-01-04 – 2011-01-02: 1451892000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2012 2011-01-03 – 2012-01-01
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 1.05 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1053772000 USD

2011-01-03 – 2012-01-01: 1053772000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2013 2012-01-02 – 2012-12-30
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 529.85 million
Exact value

Exact value: 529854000 USD

2012-01-02 – 2012-12-30: 529854000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2014 2012-12-31 – 2013-12-29
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 1.86 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1863672000 USD

2012-12-31 – 2013-12-29: 1863672000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2015 2013-12-30 – 2014-12-28
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 1.7 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1698448000 USD

2013-12-30 – 2014-12-28: 1698448000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

2016 2014-12-29 – 2016-01-03
Unavailable Not reported for this period.
USD 1.05 billion
Exact value

Exact value: 1046680000 USD

2014-12-29 – 2016-01-03: 1046680000 USD Inspect Operating Cash Flow Open source
Share or cite

The citation records this snapshot. The page link may show a newer release later.

Unavailable Not reported for this period.
Unavailable

Free cash flow cannot be calculated because Capital expenditure is unavailable for this period.

Capital expenditure uses the canonical mapped positive-spending convention. A missing, ambiguous, incompatible, or negative-sign input is left blank. Values use the latest reported version.

Dataset coverage and company identifiers

Coverage reflects filings processed into this Fundies dataset; it does not imply every source filing is loaded.

96 filings · 2,111 latest values · 2,111 originally reported values

Dataset published . Source filing dates and reporting periods are shown separately.

Identifiers: 0001000180, 1000180, edgar:1000180

Also known as SANDISK CORP, SANDISK CORPORATION